Spring Growth

“Spring Growth”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Today was another gorgeous spring day.  It was nice to have a day off that didn’t have any rain like the last two weekends have.   The garden is coming along nicely, and more plants are coming back to life or putting out flowers.

One of these is the Yellow Shrub Jessamine that I put in the garden last spring.  I was not sure it would be hardy here, so I am relieved and pleased that it not only survived but has put out new leaves and flowers.

 

yellow-day-jasimine-redu

 

Next, is the mint.  This winter it completely died back, something it has never done before.  Being a big iced tea drinker, I would be very disappointed to lose my mint, but about three weeks ago, I started seeing signs it was coming back.  I know how invasive mint can be, so this is grown in a large rectangular container, and as you can see, I can start making that iced tea now that warm temperatures and the mint are back.

 

mint-redu

 

Next, the hostas are coming back.  Some are up a lot more than others.  I just loved this angle of the hosta leaves that are just starting to unfurl, and the bright, spring green color is so welcomed after having just brown mulch in that area for so long.

 

emerging-hosta-redu

 

Next, the white lantana has started to bloom which is a little surprising since they are in more shade this year.  The yellow lantana which is in full sun does not have a sign of a bloom.  Puzzling.

 

wh-lantana-redu

 

I just love going out into the garden and discovering something new that has bloomed, popped up, or coming back to life.  I don’t know why, but it seems to be more thrilling this year to find the new growth than ever before.

13 Comments

  1. Sue said,

    April 4, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    I am in zone 5b, but since I’m seeing new growth each day, I won’t get jealous of you. My mint in pots dies back every winter. I have some just starting to poke through. I like to make tea with different kinds of mint, too.

    Happy spring!

  2. Racquel said,

    April 4, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    Me too Jan, spring is my favorite season because of all the new emerging foliage & new blooms!

  3. Jan said,

    April 5, 2009 at 4:06 am

    Sue, I was a little concerned about my mint since it has never died back before in all the years I have grown it. It is good to know that it will reliably return after freezes. I usually pick mine, let it air dry and then place it in plastic bags. When I brew the tea, I just plop a bunch of the dried mint in the hot water, and it rehydrates infusing the tea with that wonderful mint flavor. Using the dried mint, I can have mint tea even in the dead of winter.

    Racquel, I think my garden looks its best in spring. When the heat of summer kicks in, it is not as colorful, lush maybe, but not as many flowers until the heat moves on in October.

  4. janet said,

    April 5, 2009 at 7:26 am

    Jan, the yellow shrub jessamine is a new one to me. I will have to look it up. I have a Carolina Jasmine vine, not a shrub. I have a few Miss Huff lantana that are new in my garden– waiting to see signs of growth in them. Miss Huff is the ‘one’ that is hardy in our area, though there are some new ones that they claim is hardy to 7b. I get excited when the hostas come up as they are tasty to the voles…losing one of them leaves a big space.

    • Jan said,

      April 8, 2009 at 4:20 pm

      Janet, the yellow shrub jessamine is related to the night blooming jessamine. This one blooms yellow and in the daytime. All the lantanas survive here. Some die back to the roots, but they bounce back fairly quickly. I have had pretty good luck with my hostas, they don’t seem to have many creatures that find them tasty around here. It must be so heartbreaking to have a critter eat one.

      Tina, it is so much fun to just be out in warmer temperatures and spring time flowers coming out.

      Mary Beth, I didn’t think hostas would grow for me, either, but I have had some success, even with the blue ones. I find that they like morning sun, moist but well-drained soil, and lots of compost. I add compost every spring. My garden tends to be acidic, so I am not so sure about alkaline soil, but I do have several large containers with hostas that do well and overwinter with no problems. You might want to start with containers until you find out about your soil.

      Frances, it is hard to believe you still are having cold temps. Everything seems to be available at the nurseries for planting. My hostas are already a lot bigger than that photo.

      Nancy, as a matter of fact, my white ones are in containers and are doing well. Lantanas are one plant that will really put out the flowers from spring to fall, so I don’t blame you for wanting them this year.

      Donna, I love the way they spiral open as they unfurl their leaves. I guess because of our warm weather, we have lantanas in all the colors and are lucky they return year after year.

      Andre, here in the South, we always drink our iced tea with mint. It seems to make our summers a little more bearable. The hostas are really coming along nicely. It is so wonderful to see them starting to sprout. It means warm temperatures are here to stay.

  5. tina said,

    April 5, 2009 at 8:25 am

    I agree! It is SO fun going out this time of year and finding more new things. Amazing too! I bet that jessamine smells really really good.

  6. Mary Beth said,

    April 5, 2009 at 8:26 am

    Jan – Your hostas caught my eye – I have never been successful growing them and have always blamed too much heat or our alkaline soil – but seems like your garden environment is much like mine. I’d love to give them another try. Do you have any tips for me?

  7. fairegarden said,

    April 5, 2009 at 8:50 am

    Hi Jan, I love all your photos, and especially am taken with the hostas. I almost forgot for a moment where you live until the lantanas woke me from drowsy reading! HA Funny the sunnier yellow didn’t open before the white. We still have frost warnings this coming week before the lantanas, annuals here, can go in, or are even for sale. 🙂
    Frances

  8. nancybond said,

    April 5, 2009 at 11:20 am

    Lantana is the one plant I really want to try to grow in containers this year — that’s a very pretty colour, the white and the yellow. Every day is like a treasure hunt this time of year, isn’t it. 😉

  9. donna said,

    April 5, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    Lots of hostas in our yard but they aren’t yet showing any signs of life. I really like the angle you used in the photo. I love, love lantana but have never seen it in white. Will look for it this year. I can feel your LA warmth and sunshine just by looking at your pic.

  10. andré said,

    April 6, 2009 at 12:23 am

    What a nice photo of the hosta! At my place they are just beginning to emerge. Ice tea with mint sounds tempting, by the way. 🙂

  11. April 6, 2009 at 6:25 am

    The very first photo shows a sunny spring! I have a liking towards plants that flower in bunches like Lantana, Ixora, Jequirity, this Jessamine and such. They somehow seem to look more cheerful. Love the hostas! I see you’re reveling in your garden’s beauty.

    • Jan said,

      April 8, 2009 at 4:28 pm

      Chandramouli, I certainly am reveling in my garden. It seemed that this winter was sooo long. I really am enjoying this spring.


Leave a Reply

