A Classic

“A Classic”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Another Louisiana iris has started blooming.  This time it is Bayou Classic.  I have had these for several years now; they were a gift from my sister.  This particular iris is not only big and beautiful, but it is very vigorous, sending out a myriad of blooms and spreading making more plants.  Louisiana irises spread but never invasively.  Besides, with such gorgeous flowers who wouldn’t want more to spread around the garden or give away to friends and family.

 

bayou-classic-redu

 

I have these in two sections of the garden.  Right now, only one group is blooming, and the others should be blooming in a week or two.  It is nice that the bloom period is extended since these two groups will be blooming  at different times.  I guess they must each be in a different microclimate to bloom a week or more apart.

This fall, I will have to divide both groups as they are becoming crowded.  Louisiana irises are divided in the fall, just before they start a new growth spurt.  It looks like next year, I will have another group of these wonderful spring time bloomers gracing a different area of my garden.  Maybe it is time that they found a place next to the back patio.  That area could use some color at this time of year.

8 Comments

  1. April 9, 2009 at 5:39 am

    That is utterly perfect, Jan; it looks like an opal caught in flower form. I may have irises in the next few days: Iris reticulata, that is! Somewhat behind, but finally seeing whispers of spring here!

  2. April 9, 2009 at 7:09 am

    It’s gorgeous Jan, absolutely stunning.

    Happy Easter my friend!

    xoxo Tyra

  3. Janet said,

    April 9, 2009 at 11:51 am

    What a beauty!!

  4. Brenda Kula said,

    April 9, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    I have lots of irises that cropped up in my yard and I’ve moved about. But few bloom. I’m wondering what I should do to speed the process…
    Brenda

  5. Jan said,

    April 9, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    Jodi, I know after all the cold weather you have been having, warmer temperatures can’t come fast enough to bring out some flowers. I know your irises will be welcomed. Bayou Classic was the first iris I ever grew, and I was spoiled. The colors are so pretty, and I esp. like the green in the center.

    Happy Easter to you, too, Tyra. I hope you have some flowers for Easter.

    Thanks, Janet. I wish I could take credit for this beauty, but I just grow it , Mother Nature makes it.

    Brenda, it depends on the type of iris you have. In general, just give them lots of light, compost, and water.

  6. tina said,

    April 9, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    It is BEAUTIFUL!

  7. Blossom said,

    April 9, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    Beautiful! It looks a bit like my water hyacinth, doesn’t it?

  8. Jan said,

    April 10, 2009 at 6:21 am

    Hi, Tina. This iris is perfect for Easter, isn’t it. The colors remind me of the dyed eggs.

    Blossom, it does look a little like a water hyacinth. While those can be invasive in the wild, I certainly think they make a lovely flower.


Leave a Reply

