Ducks Perfect for Easter

“Ducks Perfect for Easter”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Here, in the Gulf South, petunias are planted as a winter annual.  They go in around late October and are taken out by mid-April.  I usually only put petunias in the entry garden for some winter color, but this year, after seeing my sister’s great success with Baby Duck petunias, I went ahead and planted some along the edge of the front side garden.  They have grown and spread unbelievably.  I have written about them earlier, but since then, they have filled out to be perfect for a spring garden.

 

baby-ducks-clsp-redu

 

What is so great about these small-flowered petunias is that they spread so well.  Each plant, which doesn’t get leggy, spreads almost three feet and is covered in these pale yellow, with a darker yellow throat, flowers.  From a distance, it looks so “springy” to see that mass of pale yellow.

 

baby-duck-group-redu

 

I don’t know how much longer they will continue to do well in the garden.  My sister didn’t pull hers out until the end of May last year.  So far, we have not had very much heat, but I know it is coming, and, then, it will be good bye to these Baby Ducks until fall.  These petunias were a little hard to find this year, but you can be sure that next year I will definitely be looking for them early in the season.  They just seem to fit so well into a spring garden, and being Easter, it is appropriate that we have baby ducks even the ASCPA will approve.  And, besides, next year, I want to be able to see this.

 

baby-duck-row-redu

8 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    April 11, 2009 at 6:34 am

    So these petunias don’t do well in the heat? They are a sweet delicate yellow. We almost had baby ducks…mama Mallard made a nest in our backyard and laid some eggs. The dogs scared her off I think. I haven’t seen her back. 😦

    • Jan said,

      April 11, 2009 at 12:57 pm

      Janet, I can already see these petunias are turning yellow even with regular fertilizer because the temps have been rising, but I am so glad they made it till Easter. The soft yellow is so appropriate. Too bad your dogs scared off mama mallard, and you didn’t have the real thing at your house.

      Phillip, we learned this from an old man who ran a feed and seed store. He had them outside his place and said they would not freeze here. I find it is not economical to plant large areas with petunias in the spring; they just don’t last long enough.

      Blossom, what I like about these is how they spread but continue to bloom all along the stems. I only used about 16 plants for 60 feet of flower bed length.

      Racquel, we, too, plant pansies in the fall and pull them up by mid-spring.

      Thanks, Keewee. With the Blushing Knockout roses blooming in that bed plus the petunias, it really looks spring-like.

  2. Phillip said,

    April 11, 2009 at 6:37 am

    I didn’t know that petunias were treated as winter annuals down there. I’ve learned something new today!

  3. Blossom said,

    April 11, 2009 at 7:56 am

    Those petunias are indeed lovely! That mass of pale yellow is something I would be proud of to have in my own garden. A row of them. Awesome.

  4. Racquel said,

    April 11, 2009 at 8:00 am

    That’s how we plant our pansies here in my area.

  5. keewee said,

    April 11, 2009 at 9:03 am

    Very pretty indeed.

  6. Brenda Kula said,

    April 11, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    Don’t blame you. Tis a pretty sight. I find that here petunias are sort of like pansies. Curl up and shrivel soon as the real heat hits town.
    Brenda

    • Jan said,

      April 11, 2009 at 5:43 pm

      That’s what our petunias do, too, Brenda, even the Wave ones. I find it so frustrating that the big box stores are still bringing out petunias. When they die off so early, new gardeners will be so discouraged. My violas are still looking good, but I know it won’t be long before they will be ripped out too.


Leave a Reply

