Easter Blooms

“Easter Blooms”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

I hope everyone had a lovely Easter.  We had a pleasant day, but last night, thunderstorms came through that kept us awake for hours.  Luckily, there was no damage, and we did need the rain.  The Easter bunny didn’t leave any eggs or chocolate here, but that is okay (can’t use the extra calories anyway), and I’ll take new flowers anyway.

The Walking Iris started blooming Sunday.  Usually, I am at work when they bloom, and since the flowers only last a day, I don’t get to see the big show.  But, early Sunday morning, I noticed about thirty swelling buds and knew that today there would be a display I wouldn’t miss.  I love the buds of these flowers almost as much as the flowers themselves.  When they are numerous, they remind me of Red Square and the onion dome church.

 

w-iris-buds-redu

 

By nine o’clock, the flowers were already opened and the colors were very appropriate for Easter Sunday.

 

w-iris-group-redu

 

w-iris-trio-redu

 

w-iris-redu

 

You have to agree that this was a lovely Easter present from Mother Nature.

11 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    April 13, 2009 at 6:07 am

    What a lovely iris. I am not sure if it is the angle of the photo or what, but that is really unusual. Thanks for sharing that. Glad you had a nice Easter, we did too.

  2. tina said,

    April 13, 2009 at 6:16 am

    I always wondered what the blooms looked like. They are not hardy here but so lovely!

  3. Blossom said,

    April 13, 2009 at 6:52 am

    Oh yes I do agree. They are very lovely. The close-up in the last picture is amazing.

  4. April 13, 2009 at 7:01 am

    I agree, too. A lovely Easter present, and a a very interesting flower!

  5. Phillip said,

    April 13, 2009 at 7:38 am

    I have never grown those. They are so neat.

  6. April said,

    April 13, 2009 at 11:42 am

    I saw my first walking iris at a fellow gardeners house Friday and it was love at first sight! She was kind enough to share with me!! They are just beautiful

  7. Randy said,

    April 13, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    Jan,
    Our walking irises have just started to come out of the ground. You are so far ahead of us!

  8. Sherry said,

    April 13, 2009 at 5:49 pm

    I don’t remember ever seeing these before. They’re very unusual, and very pretty! Yes, they were a very nice Easter present.

  9. April 13, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    Really amazing!

  10. Racquel said,

    April 13, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    I lovely Easter gift indeed!

  11. April 13, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    It’s the Irish… I mean Iris Spring! Awesome blooms, Jan!


Leave a Reply

