Newly Found Flower

“Newly Found Flower”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

 Many years ago, my mother gave me some daylilies.  These were the first daylilies I ever grew, and  I planted them, in what for me, was a sunny spot, and they did well the first year.  But because they really were not getting enough sun, they began to decline and soon were becoming thin, spindly, and flowerless.  About five years ago, I created a new flower bed in a sunnier area and moved Mom’s daylilies to this area, and they quickly bounced back producing flowers galore and robust foliage.

Last fall, I noticed what appeared to be a little daylily in the old area.  Since there are green spider plants growing there now, I thought maybe it really wasn’t a daylily, but soon it became clear it was a small daylily.  Now, I know I removed all the daylilies five years ago, but here was a tiny one showing up.  My sister suggested it might be a seedling, but I never let my daylilies go to seed.  Could it be that a piece of root was left behind, and it finally grew into a plant big enough to spot?  Puzzling.

Anyway, a few weeks ago, a bud stalk appeared.  There must be enough sun there now since some trees came down four years ago.  I have been eagerly awaiting to see what color the flowers would be.  There were yellow and red daylilies planted there, so what would this flower be?  Yellow?  Red?  A combination of the two or completely new color?

It has finally opened, and it is a red.

 

red-daylily-redu

 

Since my mother received these daylilies from a friend in the late ’60’s, I don’t know its name.  I have tried looking it up, but most sites only list the new and improved daylilies.  Even though this is an older lily, it certainly puts out the flowers and the color does not fade in the sunlight.

Now, the only question is do I move it next to the others or leave it where it is?  I can’t make up my mind, but until then, I am certainly going to enjoy this newly found flower.

5 Comments

  1. easygardener said,

    April 14, 2009 at 7:29 am

    It’s a lovely colour. Perhaps you should leave it and see if it increases in size. It seems to be doing fine so far!

  2. nancybond said,

    April 14, 2009 at 8:05 am

    LOVE red in just about anything — it always energizes me. A beautiful bloom, Jan!

  3. Brenda Kula said,

    April 14, 2009 at 9:52 am

    Now red is MY color! So I love it. How lucky you are to have had it bloom that color!
    Brenda

  4. April said,

    April 14, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    Wow…I have a few that are dark orange that look red…but not red. It is amazingly hard to identify daylilies…since there are over 6,000. I don’t exactly have time to go through all 6,000 to compare. Not only that, but 4500 of them probably look the same!

  5. April 14, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    No matter how many lilies you grow, you always one another, isn’t it? I can see why from your photo. Now, I too want another!


Leave a Reply

