Inspiration

“Inspiration”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

When my friend and I went plant shopping on Saturday, it was easy to get in the mood to buy plants and be in a gardening mood as soon as we pulled up to the nurseries.  Most had lovely displays that make it hard to resist.  The first nursery we went to had such a charming look.

 

sand-dollar-1-redu

 

sand-dollar-2-redu

 

You see this and, of course, who could resist buying something to make your garden look so summery and fresh.  Speaking of making you want to buy, when we arrived at our next nursery and I saw these baskets, I almost wanted to buy a big fence so I could have the same look.  The owners had these large, spectacular combinations all along the hundred foot wrought iron fence about fifteen feet apart.

 

fence-basket-1-redu

 

fence-basket-2-redu

 

Finally, this bed of petunias was also a show stopper.  No wonder it was next to the street, anyone passing by would surely want to stop in a buy petunias.

 

sign-bed-redu

 

One of the things that true nurseries have over places that only stock plants is the inspiration they give the home gardener.  They don’t just have shelves of plants, but displays that help you imagine how you could site plants to enhance your home and garden.

7 Comments

  1. Jamie said,

    April 20, 2009 at 5:08 am

    Jan,

    I thoroughly agree that it is quite wonderful when a nursery has plants set up in a way that it entices the gardener inside and at the same time provides ideas for planting! I just love the photos of the arrangements on the wrought iron fencing. Hope you enjoyed yourself and didn’t go too wild buying plants ;0)

    • Jan said,

      April 20, 2009 at 4:17 pm

      Jamie, I aren’t those fence baskets something? Using the money my mother gave me for my birthday, I was able to buy quite a lot. I spent a good part of Sunday planting.

      Joy, those displays certainly put me in the buying mood. They were so gorgeous in person.

      Michelle, I didn’t spend a fortune, but I did put a dent in the old wallet.

  2. Joy said,

    April 20, 2009 at 5:21 am

    All I can say is a huge WOW ! what gorgeous displays : )

  3. michelle said,

    April 20, 2009 at 8:31 am

    Those displays would have made me spend a fortune!

  4. April 20, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    Wow! You are WAY ahead of me. It makes my head spin! 😉

  5. Racquel said,

    April 20, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    That is a great display the nursery is putting on, very inspiring!

  6. andré said,

    April 21, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    As you say, it really looks charming, and I understand that you were tempted… 🙂


Leave a Reply

