Earlier Comeback

“Earlier Comeback”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

 

We still are having mild temperatures, so summer has not arrived here, but when looking around the garden, I am surprised at how filled out it is already.  It seems that summer time lushness has already arrived.  Daylilies are blooming or filled with more fat buds ready to burst open than ever before at this time of year.

 

stella-redu

 

Even returning plants seem to be at summer growth levels already.  Examples of this are the impatiens, toad lilies,  and ajuga.  In fact, this is the best the ajuga has been since I put it in the garden years ago.

 

impatiens-2-redu

 

 

 

ajuga-and-toadlily-redu

 

Lest you think that all is perfect here, there are a few things that still seem to be waking up slowly from winter’s chill.  Firespike is a good example.  It freezes to the ground every winter, but does reliably come back.  However, it does so slowly and, unfortunately, starts blooming very late in the summer, so that just about the time the blooms are getting numerous, it is near our first freeze date.  Very frustrating.

 

firespike-redu

 

This year more than ever before, the garden has seemed to bounce back faster from winter’s grip.  I know part of that reason is that we had a fairly mild winter, but another part is probably that the garden has matured to the point that plants are finally getting to the size I imagined they would be when I first planted them.

6 Comments

  1. donna said,

    April 22, 2009 at 4:53 am

    When we moved to this house in 1993, ajuga was growig here but ended up being one of the things to go when new landscaping was done. Every year a few pop up here and there and now I like them better than I did in 1993. So pretty when blooming.

    • Jan said,

      April 24, 2009 at 4:35 am

      Donna, I planted mine when we moved in to our house. I got pieces from my mom. I think it was the first thing I ever planted here.

  2. Randy said,

    April 22, 2009 at 6:00 am

    Jan,
    Maybe this means we will have a much longer blooming season this year. That would be nice!

    • Jan said,

      April 24, 2009 at 4:36 am

      Yes, Randy that would be great. I just hope I don’t run out of flowers too early.

  3. michelle said,

    April 22, 2009 at 6:40 am

    Wow, my dalylilies don’t bloom till July in MI. Not till June here in NC

  4. Jan said,

    April 24, 2009 at 4:37 am

    Michelle, it must be hard to wait that long for your flowers. Being in a warmer climate, even though not too far away distance-wise, makes a big difference.


Leave a Reply

