Doesn’t Have to Be Expensive

“Doesn’t Have to Be Expensive”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

Things don’t have to be expensive to look good.  Case in point, the Triumphator lilies that are just starting to open.  I planted these particular ones two years ago.  Last year I wrote about how they turned out to be surprise lilies which you can read about here.  These were blooming about mid-May last spring, but are opening now almost two weeks earlier.  This particular flower is from an off set bulb so there is only one flower, but I can see that the big bulbs have produced the usual four.

 

triumphator-lily-redu

 

These lovely lilies and a few other minor bulbs in a small watering came to a grand total of under six dollars, and  I really only wanted the watering can for a front door wreath.  Since everything was about six dollars, I figure these bulbs probably worked out to about fifty cents each.  I was shocked when these lily bulbs sprouted and bloomed, and even this year, surprised that they have returned and made off-sets that have flowered.  Now, that they have shown they have staying power, these particular lily bulbs will have to be dug up and replanted in more ideal conditions.  They deserve it.

I have only planted lilies in the garden in the last two years, starting with Easter lilies that I bought from Brent and Becky’s Bulbs.  Since I had read that the Easter lilies or Lilium longiflorum were just about the only ones that did well this far south because of our heat and humidity, I was reluctant to try any others.  After these “watering can” lilies did so well, I have tried others from the big box stores’ bargain selection.  All have returned and are showing buds.  Now, I figure if those that are subjected to poor storage in hot plastic bags do well here, ones purchased from higher end sources will be worth spending the money.  This spring I ordered more Triumphator lilies from Brent and Becky’s since their Easter lilies are fantastic.  I think from now on, more lilies will be added to my garden every year.  I am so glad that I have found out that lilies can do well here, and to think I have these Triumphator lilies to thank, lilies that started out puny, straggly, and pitiful, but ended up being a star.

9 Comments

  1. fairegarden said,

    April 29, 2009 at 5:21 am

    Hi Jan, what a bargain! Lilies are beloved here too. You are so right about living in plastic bags at the big box stores too, HA. I love Brent and Beckys. Their bulbs are huge compared to other places and the selection great. I got a gift certificate from them for my birthday and guess what I am ordering? You got it, lilies. 🙂
    Frances

  2. Jan said,

    April 29, 2009 at 5:28 am

    Good morning, Frances. You’re up early. What a great birthday present you recieved. I can’t wait to see which lilies you purchase. I do heartily agree with you about the quality of Brent and Becky’s bulbs. They are wonderful.

  3. cindydyer said,

    April 29, 2009 at 7:51 am

    Ooooh…beautiful lily! I go weak for lilies…and I don’t have THIS one in my collection! Thanks for pointing it out. 😉

  4. Janet said,

    April 29, 2009 at 9:43 am

    Hi Jan, I too love Brent and Becky’s place. They are just across the bridge from here…about a 25 minute drive. Those lilies are beautiful. I wanted to tell you that I found both of my amaryllis bulbs coming up. We are a lot later than you I guess, but the voles have left both of them alone!! yeah!

  5. Randy said,

    April 29, 2009 at 10:05 am

    Jan, I’m all about a good bargain! The majority of the things in our garden were reduced in price 70 to 90 percent.

  6. April said,

    April 29, 2009 at 11:34 am

    Oh I love any lily!

  7. Jan said,

    April 29, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    Cindy, this lily has such a pretty pink color in the center. It truly is lovely. It seems to also be very vigorous, so you can’t go wrong with this one.

    Janet, how lucky for you to be so close to such a great plant place. If I was that close, I know I would be a lot poorer. I am so glad that your amaryllis are still around. I can’t wait to see photos of the flowers.

    Randy, I know you are a very astute bargin hunter. I still can’t get over how little you paid for some of your statues. I sure wish the places around here would have more sales.

    April, I am beginning to feel the same way.

  8. Racquel said,

    April 30, 2009 at 5:14 am

    That was a great bargain Jan. I have found over the years that you don’t have to spend big bucks to get that wow factor in the garden either. Brent & Beckie’s are a fabulous source for bulbs & perennials. They are just a hop, skip & a drive down the road from where I live. 🙂

  9. Jan said,

    April 30, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    Racquel, seems like you are close to Janet of Queen of Seaford fame. I am so jealous that you two are so close to Brent and Becky’s. I would love to be close to them.


Leave a Reply

