Eye-Yi-Yi

“Eye-Yi-Yi”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

There is a lot going on here in my garden in Covington, Louisiana.  New flowers and returning plants are showing up every day.  Wednesday, another “first” daylily opened.  It was Eye-Yi-Yi, one of a dozen daylilies my sweet sister from Virginia sent me as a gift last year from Oakes Daylilies.

 

eye-yi-yi-daylily-redu

 

This gift daylily has returned this year bigger and better than last year.  It must be very happy where it is planted.  I don’t usually like orange flowers, but this daylily started changing my mind last year.  I love the big, red eyezone.  Its bright colors remind me of Mexico and our honeymoon in Mexico City many years ago, and with Cinco de Mayo just around the corner, the flowers have shown up at just the right time.  After seeing how well this color fit into the garden scheme, I asked my sister for one of her old-fashioned orange daylilies, which she generously gave me without any hesitation.   I know these daylilies are common, but she obtained them from my mother’s house, so not only will the color fit in, but this daylily will be one more reminder of home.

When I look at my garden, it sometimes amazes me how it has evolved.  When I first started, I planted only white flowers and white caladiums in the back garden.  I wanted the area to look cool and serene, which it did, but gradually as the years went by, color started creeping in.  Now, there is little to no white at all, but other colors are everywhere.  If anyone would have told me back then that I would have a bold orange daylily in that area, I would have been horrified.  Now, I am so glad.

9 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    April 30, 2009 at 4:57 am

    Is it fun to see how your plantings evolve over the years? That is a really bright daylily. Nice.

  2. Racquel said,

    April 30, 2009 at 5:15 am

    That is a gorgeous Daylilly, so dramatic! Isn’t it amazing how we evolve as gardeners and over the years are taste can change? 🙂

  3. patientgardener said,

    April 30, 2009 at 5:19 am

    I wonder if the increase in colour is because you are a more connfident gardener now?

  4. April said,

    April 30, 2009 at 10:44 am

    I think all of our gardens take a turn from what we originally wanted. We plan a bed, then add to it when we see something we can’t live without…and boom! You have a little bit of everything

  5. garden tips said,

    April 30, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    I love Daylillies. They are so colourful, they are the stars of the garden.

  6. Jan said,

    April 30, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    Janet, I wish I would have had a digital camera years ago so I could now see the changes. Now, that would be fun.

    Racquel, it is a very nice daylily. So big, and the flower petals are so thick that they really do last until late evening. I guess it is a good thing when we as gardeners change. It means we are open to new ideas and things. I did like my garden before, but now I love it.

    PG, you know, you may be right. I think I am more open to taking risks with plants, willing to try new things. I also imagine it may be because I have more sun now, and that is allowing me to plant different flowers and shrubs than before.

    April, you certainly are right about seeing something we can’t live without. I am sure that is a big reason my garden has changed.

    Hi, Garden tips. I have really only started putting in daylilies in the last three years, and now I am hooked. They are such great plants.

  7. donna said,

    April 30, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    I bet you had a colorful flower tucked in your hair while you enjoyed salsa dancing with your groom on your honeymoon in Mexico.

  8. April 30, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    Damn! Your lily mania’s driving me crazy.LOL! If I had a space on ground, I’d fill it up with these beauties!

  9. Jan said,

    May 1, 2009 at 3:44 am

    Donna, we certainly did enjoy out week in Mexico City. It is a wonderful place to visit.

    Chandramouli, for several years, I have been slowly adding perennials so that there will be blooms year round. It seems as if that effort is finally paying off. You could grow some daylilies in pots since you don’t have any more garden space.


Leave a Reply

