Favorite Gardening Pastime

“Favorite Gardening Pastime”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Saturday turned out to be a very productive day in the garden.  It was a little on the warm side, but several glasses of iced tea took care of that.  I finally made some headway into planting all the new purchases plus some of the other plants in containers that I have been meaning to place in the garden.  But first, there was my favorite pastime which is walking around the garden in the very early morning and just taking everything in.

The Clematis crispa has started blooming.  If you remember, this was the vine I inadvertently broke in late winter while planting a Caldwell Pink rose bush.  I was so upset, but it turned out to be no big deal as this favorite vine started putting out new sprouts in a few weeks.  Now, there are flowers.  This is only the second year that this clematis has been in the garden, and it is blooming much earlier than last year.  I guess being established does make a big difference.

 

clematis-crispa-redu

 

Planted in front of this clematis is some gladiolus bulbs that are the same lavender color that should be opening in a few days.  Don’t think I planned this, though.  The glads were planted three years ago and keep returning.  It has turned out to be a lucky coincidence that the clematis and the gladiolus are similar colors.

Nearby this clematis is the oakleaf hydrangea.  This is one of my favorite shrubs because it has so much going for it – exfoliating bark, lovely flowers, and foliage that starts out a beautiful celadon green that moves from bright green to red as we go from spring to fall.

 

oakleaf-hydrangea-redu

 

Also showing its first flower is Cat’s Whiskers (Orthosiphon stamineus).  This is the first time I have planted this in the garden, and I am hoping that it will overwinter.  I have this placed in the “white” garden in front of the Easter lilies.

 

cats-whiskers-redu

 

Finally, the last of the new flowers is the light yellow daylily that my sister shared from her garden last year.  This is a pass along plant since she received it from my mother, who got it from a neighbor years ago.  I love the bright yellow color, but what really floored me was the size.  It is huge!  The flower must be about ten inches across.  It is the biggest daylily I have ever seen.

 

 

lt-yellow-daylily-redu-3

 

After seeing all these beautiful flowering plants, you can understand why I was so enthusiastic about planting all my recent purchases.  I can’t wait for them to be as established and blooming as these.  So, even though it was a hot day, I did enjoy the hours I was outside, finding a home for the newly bought plants.

16 Comments

  1. Garden Mary said,

    May 3, 2009 at 4:52 am

    It is nice to walk around in the early morning and see how the plants are doing. Love the big daylily.

  2. Jan said,

    May 3, 2009 at 5:04 am

    Garden Mary, I love to do this just before going to work. If I am dressed up, I am not tempted to do any work such as pulling a weed, deadheading, etc. I just enjoy what’s there and not worry about what needs to be done.

  3. May 3, 2009 at 5:59 am

    Walking in the garden in the morning is a wonderful way to start the day. Here in the north, we purposefully cut back our clematis vines to about 12 – 18 inches in early spring before they start to bud out. They come back stronger that way, it seems.

  4. Jan said,

    May 3, 2009 at 6:05 am

    Carol, I think walking in the garden is the best way to start the day. I have already been outside and noticed three new plants blooming. Oh, happy day! Speaking of the clematis. I read where this was supposed to die back in the cold and then sprout in the spring. I would have pruned it back in about early March, but my big foot did it in January. Now that it has been in the garden a year, I will know what to do in the future.

  5. fairegarden said,

    May 3, 2009 at 6:48 am

    Hi Jan, a lovely walk around with you. So glad to hear your plants got into the ground. I always worry about them when reading of others who don’t plant right away. Love the cat’s whiskers, an annual here, but still worth planting for the foliage and flowers so tall and unique. And that daylily! Imagining ten inches across boggles the mind, it must be stunning! Deserving of a place of honor for its history too. 🙂
    Frances

  6. Jan said,

    May 3, 2009 at 9:16 am

    Yes, Frances that is some daylily. When my sister gave it to me, she called it the big yellow daylily. I thought it would be just a regular daylily and didn’t realize it would be that big and she that meant the term literally. It almost doesn’t even look like a daylily it is so big.

  7. Michelle said,

    May 3, 2009 at 9:53 am

    Great looking plants. that cat whiskers is very iteresting! the clematis is great too. I hope all mine made it throught the winter!

  8. kaelovinlife said,

    May 3, 2009 at 10:20 am

    great page. the cat’s whiskers is such an interesting flower. thanks for sharing.
    *kae*
    http://kaelovinlife.wordpress.com/2009/05/03/kaes-favorite-sun-perennials-getting-the-best-return-on-gardening/

  9. April said,

    May 3, 2009 at 10:41 am

    I can’t believe how great your oak leaf hydrangea looks already!!! All of my hydrangeas have buds, but no blooms. Maybe in a week or so they will. Great shots. Have a good Sunday!

  10. Jan said,

    May 3, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    Michelle, I hope the cat whiskers do as well as I have read it does and that it will survive the winter. I plan on mulching it well. It certainly has an interesting form.

    Kae, thanks for visiting. I checked out your blog and it is very nice. I have great hopes for the cat’s whiskers.

    April, my mophead and lacecap hydrangeas also have the flower clusters starting to show, in fact, one mophead has one cluster that is starting to show a little color. But, the oakleaf hydrangea’s flowers really are showing early this year and I am not complaining.

  11. Jake said,

    May 4, 2009 at 4:40 am

    Wow, nice pictures! I love that Daylily, do you know what its name is? I have t get me one if you do, love that large bloom.

    Jake

  12. Jan said,

    May 4, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    Jake, sorry, I don’t know the name of this big daylily. The petals are not thick so it can’t be one of the tetraploids. It looks like a regular daylily, just with huge flowers.

  13. Jake said,

    May 5, 2009 at 5:11 am

    I looked outside after I posted my comment and saw a Daylily like yours in my garden. It is exactly like yours, I am so excited. I forgot what they looked likre since they didn’t bloom last year after I moved them from Kentucky to Florida, over a year and I forgot.

    I am trying t get the name,

    Jake

  14. Jan said,

    May 5, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    Jake, that is too funny that you were excited over a daylily you already had. If you find out the name, please let me know.

  15. cindydyer said,

    May 10, 2009 at 10:31 am

    Hi Jan! I’ll be that white garden of yours is beautiful in the early evening, just before it gets dark. I love the cat’s whiskers! Where did you purchase your plant?

    The yellow lily shot is really nice in the previous posting!

    • Jan said,

      May 10, 2009 at 12:26 pm

      Yes, Cindy, it is nice esp. on weekdays when you get home from work and can still enjoy the garden.


Leave a Reply

