Fragrant Red and White Beauties

“Fragrant Red and White Beauties”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

After my first experiment with Easter lilies went so well, I decided to try more lilies.  Last spring I bought some assorted lilies that were very inexpensive to see how other lilies would do in the garden before I invested in better bulbs.  A few did bloom last year which really didn’t surprise me since I bought them rather late in the planting season.  Of the ones that did have flowers, one looked like Stargazer and another one was a pretty white one.  This year another has bloomed – a gorgeous red color.

 

Red Lily (redu)

 

After seeing this beautiful red color, I was thinking I might move it to a more prominent place so that the flower could be seen and enjoyed more.  All and all, not too bad for an inexpensive bulb.  This certainly encourages me to try more lilies.

Another shrub has started blooming – the daisy gardenia.  I posted a few days back about the more common double flowering gardenias starting to open, and now these singles have started.

 

Daisy Gardenia (redu)

 

I usually prefer double flowers, but I can’t make up my mind which type of gardenia I like best.  I do like the doubles, but there is something very appealing about the simplicity of the single flowers of the daisy gardenia.  Since I have both, it is nice not to have to choose.

Now that most of the jasmine and privet have finished blooming, it is nice to have the gardenias and lilies to perfume the air.  I am certainly going to miss these fragrant beauties when they stop blooming.

12 Comments

  1. Garden Mary said,

    May 9, 2009 at 6:19 am

    Wow! That certainly is a pretty red lily. I don’t think I have ever seen lilies come in any color other than white or pink, but then I don’t grow lilies. It is nice to see yours.

  2. Jan said,

    May 9, 2009 at 6:21 am

    Garden Mary, I have just started growing a few lilies myself, so I am certainly no expert, but I just love this red color. I hope it continues to do well.

  3. donna said,

    May 9, 2009 at 6:27 am

    I like the single flower of your daisy gardenia. Simple is always good. I’d like to do more lilies, but don’t want any that have to be staked. Your lily is an exceptionally pretty shade of red. A little fire in the garden is nice.

    • Jan said,

      May 12, 2009 at 2:52 pm

      Donna, I like both the double and the single. I think the single makes a better show as a stand alone bush because then the flowers really stand out, and the doubles do well when a group is planted. I love that red color of the lily. It is such a deep red. I sure hope it multiplies.

  4. Norwood said,

    May 9, 2009 at 8:44 am

    I’ve never seen this single gardenia before. It is a simple, but pretty flower.

    • Jan said,

      May 12, 2009 at 2:53 pm

      Norwood, I had never seen this before until my mother got a cutting from a friend. Once her bush was growing, she took a cutting of hers and made mine.

  5. May 9, 2009 at 9:17 am

    Oh, Jan, you’ll find lilies are like potato chips…you can’t have just one or two…I hope you have fun experimenting with others this year. As for that gardenia…I’m consumed with a little gardenia-envy. But I’ll get over it. 😉

    • Jan said,

      May 12, 2009 at 2:55 pm

      Jodi, you are right, you can’t stop at just one or two lilies, but I am going to try and take it slow. As for the gardenia-envy, I certainly envy your ability to grow many flowers I can’t. I guess we’re even.

  6. Brenda Kula said,

    May 9, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    I don’t think I ever met a flower I didn’t like! And I always love yours!
    Brenda

    • Jan said,

      May 12, 2009 at 2:56 pm

      Thanks, Brenda. Flowers really are what we notice most in a garden.

  7. Jake said,

    May 10, 2009 at 9:38 am

    I am glad you are having luck with Lillies. I brought my 6 Stargazer Lillies and 4 Easter Lillies with me from KY and only 1 Easter Lily is coming back. It is very sad as these are a favorite plant of mine.

    Jake

    • Jan said,

      May 12, 2009 at 2:57 pm

      Jake, what a shame the others haven’t come back. Maybe you just need to start again because both of those lilies are so lovely.


Leave a Reply

