Hidden Treasure

“Hidden Treasure”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

The hidden ginger has started to return.  This is my favorite summer plant, and I eagerly await its return each year.  This is Curcuma zedoaria which goes dormant in late fall and returns in late spring.  Its flowers usually show up before the leaves do, and once the leaves emerge, the flowers are hidden among the foliage.

 

Hidden Ginger (redu)

 

They are not your typical flowers, but they do last a long time.  While the flowers are nice, it is the foliage that I love the most.  Big leaves with a maroon stripe down the middle sway in the summer breezes.  I have them planted on the property lines, and they do give some privacy from the neighbors during the summer months when we spend the most time in the garden.

 

2008-084-hidden-ginger-redu-005

 

This is a photo from last year showing how big the leaves can get.  Here, they are about six to seven feet tall, great for summer screening.  I can’t wait for this year’s returning hidden ginger to reach these heights.  It truly is a treasure in the garden.

10 Comments

  1. May 11, 2009 at 5:40 am

    It really looks amazing, Jan. The huge leaves themselves are an attraction and makes your garden look tropical. Of course, the blooms are ultra cool too – what with their soft looks!

    • Jan said,

      May 12, 2009 at 3:00 pm

      Chandramouli, this is one of my all time favorite plants. I love when it comes up in late spring and hate when it fades in the autumn.

  2. Janet said,

    May 11, 2009 at 5:42 am

    Very tropical looking Jan. Does the flower have a ginger fragrance? It is a different botanical name than the ginger I have, mine is a white flower with similar foliage as a canna, a ginger lily. Hedychium coronarium –great fragrance, for us it blooms late summer.

    • Jan said,

      May 12, 2009 at 3:10 pm

      Janet, no, the flower has no fragrance, unfortunately. There are several plants that are called “gingers”. There are over 1,300 members of the diverse Zingiberaceae family. Yours is the commonly called butterfly ginger which has that wonderful fragrance. When mine blooms, it perfumes the whole back garden.

  3. Gail said,

    May 11, 2009 at 6:05 am

    That is a good privacy screen! Prettier then my combination invasive bush honeysuckle and forsythia! gail

    • Jan said,

      May 12, 2009 at 3:11 pm

      Gail, it does make a nice privacy screen when we need it the most. I know about the honeysuckle, I am starting to have to fight it, too.

  4. Tatyana said,

    May 11, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    I’ve never seen this plant before, and I like it. I like its tropical look and unusual flower. Thanks!

    • Jan said,

      May 12, 2009 at 3:12 pm

      Tatyana, like I said before, it is the foliage I find most attractive. I have several clumps around the garden, and this plant does give a very tropical look.

  5. Lynn said,

    May 11, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    You are so lucky! I planted a ginger last year, no signs of life yet.

    • Jan said,

      May 12, 2009 at 3:13 pm

      Lynn, my pinecone ginger just started coming back. I was so afraid I had lost it. Don’t give up hope yet.


Leave a Reply

