Daylily Candy

“Daylily Candy”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Another daylily started flowering Tuesday.  Custard Candy showed its first blossom, but unfortunately, I didn’t get to see it until after work when it was not at its best.  Well, hopefully, there will be a few more blooms on the weekend, so I will see a flower at its peak.

Custard Candy (redu)

A better photo can be seen on my Eye Candy post from last year.  If you thought that Strawberry Candy, one of the most popular daylilies at this time, is the only “Candy” daylily, check out my post.  This series of daylilies has a great number of candy flowers.  I was very surprised to find all the different ones now available.  In fact, I don’t think that I even listed them all since there are so many.

But, back to Custard Candy.  This is a lovely vanilla custard colored daylily with a raspberry eye.  The flower petals are very thick since it is a tetraploid, so the bloom will last well into evening and won’t wilt when the area needs to be under the sprinkler.

There are more buds, so here’s hoping I’ll get to see them in the morning.  I’ll be out of town tonight and Friday night, so I hope they all don’t bloom then.  In fact, I have two more daylilies that haven’t bloomed yet.  Those better wait until I am home before they bloom.

14 Comments

  1. Randy said,

    May 13, 2009 at 6:29 am

    Jan,
    I have a mislable daylily that is supposedly from the Candy series. I’ll post a picture soon and maybe you’ll recognize it.

    • Jan said,

      May 17, 2009 at 3:57 pm

      Randy, I hate mislabeled plants, and this seems to be happening more and more. The candy series certainly has some pretty daylilies.

  2. May 13, 2009 at 6:41 am

    Whoa! It definitely looks like a candy and tastier one to eyes at that!

    • Jan said,

      May 17, 2009 at 3:58 pm

      Thanks, Chandramouli. I fell in love with it when I saw the picture in a garden catalog and had to have it.

  3. April said,

    May 13, 2009 at 7:53 am

    Very nice. I don’t know that I have ever seen that one.

    • Jan said,

      May 17, 2009 at 3:58 pm

      April, Strawberry Candy is much more popular, and I rarely see Custard Candy offered anymore.

  4. Jackie said,

    May 13, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    I just ordered some day lilies online. I wanted something a bit more unusual than the typical Stella D’Oro. Can’t wait until they come in. Yours are beautiful! -Jackie

    • Jan said,

      May 17, 2009 at 4:01 pm

      Jackie, I feel the same way about wanting something different, and it seems that the only way to find things is to order online. Thank goodness for the internet.

  5. cindee said,

    May 13, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    That is so pretty!! I love Daylillies!!! That one looks like it was kissed!!!!(-:

    • Jan said,

      May 17, 2009 at 4:02 pm

      Thanks, Cindee. Daylilies are quickly becoming very numerous in my garden, too.

  6. Jake said,

    May 14, 2009 at 5:43 am

    Wow, makes me wish I had brought with me to FL from KY. I never got to see it bloom. Great pic!

    Jake

    • Jan said,

      May 17, 2009 at 4:03 pm

      Jake, it must be hard to move and have to leave plants behind. I am lucky to be gardening in the same place for years. Glad you got to see my photo at least.

  7. Brenda Kula said,

    May 14, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    I don’t think there’s a single daylily left in the garden. Must have gotten taken out with other things. I have to get some!
    Brenda

    • Jan said,

      May 17, 2009 at 4:04 pm

      Yes, Brenda, you have to get some. A few outside of your new windows would be very nice.


Leave a Reply

