Flower Dwellers

“Flower Dwellers”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Just the other day, I saw the cutest thing, a little tree frog sitting in an Easter lily.  Can you see him in the photo below?  He’s right in the center of the flower.

 

Tree Frog in Lily (redu)

 

Another tree frog has been living in the Misty Mayhaw daylily.  Every time I walk by, he either goes farther in the flower, or if he thinks I might be threatening, he moves to be in a position to escape.

 

Tree frog on Misty Mayhaw (redu)

 

Lately, we have been seeing a great many tree frogs again.  They seemed to almost disappear about four years ago after Hurricane Katrina.  Last summer, they were back in full force.  I don’t know where they came from because, except for birdbaths, which we do empty almost daily in the summer, we have no bodies of water for these little guys  to reproduce. 

While I would not be surprised to find a little fairy sleeping in one of my flowers, after all fairies are supposed to love gardens, I am still surprised (pleasantly) to find an amphibian using my flowers as a hotel.

6 Comments

  1. May 15, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    How gorgeous – love the one in the lily, very well spotted

    • Jan said,

      May 17, 2009 at 3:29 pm

      Helen, that little guy is there every time there is a bloom. I leaned in to smell that flower and came face to face with him. I think we both were surprised.

  2. donna said,

    May 15, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    The tree frog in the Easter Lily looking out at us is too cute for words. Didn’t see him at first.

    • Jan said,

      May 17, 2009 at 3:30 pm

      Donna, he is a cutie, isn’t he? These little guys have never done this before, but these flowers seem to be a perfect fit.

  3. Janet said,

    May 16, 2009 at 5:39 am

    Oh Jan, those two photos are notecard worthy!! Love those cute little tree frogs! I especially like the top one where he is almost hidden in the center.

    • Jan said,

      May 17, 2009 at 3:31 pm

      Janet, I just couldn’t resist posting those two pictures. I, too, thought they were just too cute.


Leave a Reply

