A Tardy GBBD

“A Tardy GBBD”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Thanks to Carol of May Dreams Gardens for coming up with GBBD.  This is the day (15th of the month) in which we post everything which is blooming in our gardens.  Unfortunately, on the 15th of this month, I was out of town and couldn’t post what was blooming in my garden, but since I like the fact that by doing GBBD I have a record of what is flowering in the garden each month, I figured better late than never.

The oak leaf, mophead, and lacecap hydrangeas are now all blooming at the same time.  The oak leaf has been blooming for a few weeks while the other two have only just started.

 

Oak Leaf Hydr (redu)

 

White Lacecap (redu)

 

Pk Mophead (redu)

 

The daylilies are still blooming.  Custard Candy is one of the most recent to bloom, but the old-fashioned yellow, red, and orange are still blooming.  Eye yi yi, Misty Mayhaw, Stella d’Oro, Plum Tree, and Rose Passion daylilies are also just finishing up or just starting to bloom.

 

Custard Candy (redu)

 

Making sure the garden remains colorful, the lantana is really putting out the flowers.  Both the gold, the white, the pink, and the orange are blooming profusely now that warm temperatures are here to stay.  The fushia-colored one, which I cut back severely this spring, has come back but no flowers yet.  Maybe next month there will be pictures of that one.

 

Gold Lantana (redu)

 

Making sure the garden smells as good as it looks, the confederate jasmine, gardenias, and lilies (Easter, Triumphator, and Madonna) are blooming well.

 

Triumphtor (redu)

 

Easter Lilies

 

Many other plants are showing their summer flowers.  The crybaby tree is still blooming and will continue all summer.  The sages/salvias are really getting geared up for continuous summer blooms including Lady in Red, Victoria Spires, Mexican Bush, Pineapple, and Mystic Spires.  The pink, white, and purple Katie ruella are starting to flower, but the red one “Ragin Cajun” has been blooming for weeks.  All the tropical hibiscus plants have been putting out flowers, but the perennial Texas Star is coming back slowly and should be showing a flower soon, I hope.  The roses are all still blooming, though I expect the pink climber is just about finished.  The knockouts (red, pink, and blushing), Iceberg, The Fairy, Mutablis, and Caldwell Pink should continue blooming until cold weather comes around.  The laveneder gladiolus have bloomed this month, but not the other colors.

As for vines, the pink pandora vine and the clematis crispa are blooming and should continue all summer.

I’ll probably have to post updates to this because I am sure there are some things I am forgetting.  Spring and early summer is when I think the garden looks its best simply because so many plants, shrubs, and vines are blooming.  This is certainly the best time to enjoy a flowering garden.

6 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    May 17, 2009 at 7:27 am

    Lantana really gives and gives all season long! In our area only Miss Huff is hardy, though they are saying Chapel Hill is also…mine didn’t make it.
    I love that pink lily! Absolutely beautiful!

    • Jan said,

      May 17, 2009 at 3:22 pm

      Janet, what a shame your lantana doesn’t survive the winter. It has to be pretty cold for ours not to return, in fact, I can’t remember it not coming back. I have been very successful in rooting pieces from cuttings which might be a solution for a favorite one to overwinter.

  2. Jean said,

    May 17, 2009 at 8:43 am

    You certainly have a ton of things blooming and you’ve inspired me to do a late GBBD post as well (unless GBBD falls on a weekend, I have a hard time getting to it!). I’m waiting for the rain to pass first though.

    I have a lot of daylilies blooming now but I wish I knew their names as you do. They provide such interesting detail to the garden, don’t they. Your hydrangeas look gorgeous. I’m still hoping my oakleaf will bloom this year. Third year’s the charm or it gets the boot?? And I can almost smell your garden!

    • Jan said,

      May 17, 2009 at 3:24 pm

      I just visited your site and was glad I’m not the only one late. We didn’t get a drop of rain, so I am envious of your rainfall. Does your oak leaf get enough sun? They take more than the mopheads do. Late in the evening the garden does smell wonderful with the lilies and gardenias blooming. I wish I could share that along with the photos.

  3. Randy said,

    May 17, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    Beautiful Jan! Just Beautiful!

    • Jan said,

      May 18, 2009 at 3:23 pm

      Thanks, Randy, things seem to be doing well this year.


Leave a Reply

