Thanks, Mr. Weatherman

“Thanks, Mr. Weatherman”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

A great cool front came through yesterday, and we are enjoying unbelievable weather.  This morning it is 54 degrees which is about 20 degrees cooler than normal.  I have often written about how the heat affects our plants this far south.  It is not so much the high day time temperatures but the high night time temperatures that make it difficult for some plants to survive.  So, not only are the humans and animals enjoying this cool respite, but the garden does, too.  It is amazing how quickly plants respond to drier and cooler air.  When you go out in the morning everything is standing just a little taller and leaves are held a little straighter.

Rose Bud (redu)

This drier air should hang around for several days.  It makes working in the garden bearable, so it is not just the plants that will enjoy this extremely pleasant weather, humans will too.  I get to be outside without wilting, no need for air conditioning, and no wilting plants.  What more could you ask for?

16 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    May 18, 2009 at 5:11 am

    Enjoy the cooler days. We are still getting rain….yesterday’s total was 2.5 inches.

    • Jan said,

      May 18, 2009 at 3:13 pm

      Janet, I wish we would have had a little rain. It has been so dry this month here. I don’t think we have received even .25 inches this whole month. This cool spell is sooooo nice.

  2. Randy said,

    May 18, 2009 at 6:16 am

    Jan,
    This weather is nice, very nice. I couldn’t believe how cool it was when I left for work this morning!

    • Jan said,

      May 18, 2009 at 3:14 pm

      Randy, it is wonderful, isn’t it? We slept with the windows open last night, something unheard of in late May around here.

  3. Lee Ann said,

    May 18, 2009 at 7:21 am

    Nice that you are getting a little respite, but I could wish for a little of the heat you have suffered lately! Tonight’s low is supposed to be 33 here – will have to cover the tomatoes and peppers I just put out yesterday. I should have waited – our official frost free date isn’t until the 22nd (which is actually earlier than previous years, according to the Farmer’s Almanac). Anyway, enjoy it while it lasts!

    • Jan said,

      May 18, 2009 at 3:16 pm

      Oh my gosh, Lee Ann, 33 degrees! I hate to tell you that our last freeze date is usually around February 15th. I sure hope your tomatoes and peppers will be okay.

  4. Mary Beth said,

    May 18, 2009 at 9:55 am

    That cool front brushed through my area too – Yesterday I was shocked to see my car thermostat register 81 degrees at 4 in the afternoon! that has been our 7 am temp lately. My garden is happy with this little reprieve, too.

    • Jan said,

      May 18, 2009 at 3:19 pm

      Mary Beth, I had on shorts yesterday, and by late afternoon, was cold. It got to be very windy here which meant we had a wind chill, in May! I sure wish we could get weather like this every few weeks in mid summer.

  5. Jackie said,

    May 18, 2009 at 11:11 am

    It’s cold in New England today… I had to even put the heat on. We have frost warnings for tonight. Good thing I didn’t plant my tomatoes! -Jackie

    • Jan said,

      May 18, 2009 at 3:21 pm

      Jackie, I think Lee Ann wishes now that she had waited a few days to plant her tomatoes like you did. I did have to put the car heater on for a little while this morning. It seems everyone is getting unusually low temperatures with this front.

  6. Brenda Kula said,

    May 18, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    I just mentioned to Robert that I wish it could be like this year round. The air has a crisp coolness to it that is uncustomary this time of year in this region. You can take a deep breath and the slight breeze is rejuvenating.
    Brenda

    • Jan said,

      May 18, 2009 at 3:23 pm

      Brenda, I, too, wish this would stay around a little longer or, at least, come back every few weeks. I love being able to work out in the garden for a long period of time without becoming drained as happens in the summer. Enjoy it while it lasts.

  7. ryublade said,

    May 18, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    Isn’t this weather great! Spring plants which would have been just a memory around this time of the year have managed to linger just a little longer for us to enjoy. This has been a great year for me in regards to adding more plants which will have a chance to survive to my garden before the heat wave comes around.

    • Jan said,

      May 19, 2009 at 4:32 am

      This shot of cool weather revived the violas just enough to stop me from pulling them out, though when the warm temps return in a few days, they will have to go. I am glad to hear that you have had a good garden year so far, I am sure your new plants will thrive.

  8. Jean said,

    May 18, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    Hasn’t it been wonderful?! I’m enjoying it while I can. And yes, the plants seem to like it too. We deserve a little break since it seems like summer started early here.

    • Jan said,

      May 19, 2009 at 4:33 am

      Jean, with the cool temps and windy weather, yesterday felt like March. I wish it would last a little longer, but I am thankful for even this short spell. I is a nice break from the earlier than normal hot temps.


Leave a Reply

