For Only a Day

“For Only a Day”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

The last few weeks have been great for daylilies.  While the flowers last only a day, there are usually so many of them that it seems the flowers never die.  It is only in the last few years that daylilies have found a place in my garden, but I have been making up for lost time.  It is exciting to see new daylily flowers open.  There are a few that I haven’t shown pictures of yet, and today with two new flowers, I feel it is time to share them.

The first is one my sister gave me.  She received it from my mother several years ago, and of course, no one knows the name of this one, unfortunately.  I have it in the circle garden with the other yellow daylilies and the red daylilies.  It does seem to pick up both of the colors of the these.  This photo was taken this afternoon, but this morning as I was leaving for work, I noticed the “brown” was really a “red”.  I guess it might have faded in the intense sun.

Bicolor Daylily (redu)

A Happy Returns flower showed up Sunday morning.  I just love this particular shade of yellow.  This one, too, is in the circle garden.

Happy Returns (redu)

While there is mostly shades of yellow in the circle garden, I do have some shades of purple to break it up.  Salvias, for example.  But, also the daylily Plum Tree is planted there.  This one has just started, and I am amazed at the number of buds the four plants there have.

Plum Tree (redu)

One more daylily from my generous sister has bloomed.  She gave me this one last year, but this is the first year I have had any blooms.  While this one was from my mother’s neighbor originally and came without a name, I think it is Kwanso, a double form of the tawny daylily.  I didn’t think I would like this orange color in my garden, but I am surprised by how much orange is spread around in the back garden.  The repeated small spots of orange adds some zip to that area.

Kwanso Daylily (redu)

Finally, I just have to add one more photo of Misty Mayhaw, or as it seems to be, The Daylily Motel.  I have posted a photo before of a tree frog that is always in every blossom of this plant, but on Sunday afternoon, I couldn’t believe my eyes.  Two tree frogs sharing the daylily flower.  Since we had an unusual cool front come through, I figure they must have had to cuddle together to stay warm.

Misty Mayhaw w Frogs (redu)

Even though these lovely flowers only last a day, I certainly do enjoy them while they last.

8 Comments

  1. Norwood said,

    May 19, 2009 at 4:51 am

    Very pretty flowers. Cute the way the frogs are living in the flower.

    • Jan said,

      May 19, 2009 at 4:53 am

      Thanks, Norwood. I am so pleased with the daylilies this year. They have done very well.

  2. bangchik said,

    May 19, 2009 at 10:14 am

    They are beautiful lilies… How I wish we could grow more of these. At the moment there is only zephyr lilies.., white and pink color.

    • Jan said,

      May 19, 2009 at 8:04 pm

      These are lovely flowers. I guess gardeners wants to grow whatever they see. I know that I will see something on a blog and then want it in my garden, too.

  3. May 19, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    Oh, Jan! I love that last one- just beautiful! I can’t wait for mine to bloom 🙂

    • Jan said,

      May 19, 2009 at 8:05 pm

      Tessa, I have really been enjoying the daylilies as they open up. I still have a few that are just starting to show buds, and I can hardly wait for those to start blooming, too.

  4. Jake said,

    May 19, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    I like all of them, but there is something about that orange double Daylily

    Jake

    • Jan said,

      May 19, 2009 at 8:06 pm

      Jake, I usually only like cool colors, but lately, the hot ones are becoming more appealing. I know several years ago I would never have had a bright orange flower in my garden, but now I love it.


Leave a Reply

