Showing Up Early

“Showing Up Early”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Several plants have been blooming earlier than usual.  I started remarking about this in February, and today, realized that it is continuing.  Last year, I specifically remember that my red bleeding heart vine (clerodendron thomsanaie var. delectum) did not start blooming until late summer.  I thought that was unusual, but my sister said the same thing about hers.  Well, for the last two weeks or so, this vine has been blooming; not profusely at first, but it is quickly picking up steam.

 

Red Bleeding Heart (redu)

 

Now, why would a plant do this?  It is hard to say why.  Maybe I started fertilizing sooner this year; the winter was a little milder than normal and it came back faster, the ground was warmer.  Maybe last year was the fluke?  It bloomed later and that was unusual, and this year’s blooms are right on time. Who knows?  I only know I am happy that it has started blooming so early.  I felt cheated last year when fall came, and the bleeding heart had just started blooming.  Are you finding plants blooming earlier, too?

9 Comments

  1. Garden Mary said,

    May 20, 2009 at 4:40 am

    Yes, Jan, I have found things here in Tennessee to be blooming earlier, too. My irises bloomed about two weeks earlier.

    • Jan said,

      May 20, 2009 at 4:45 am

      Garden Mary, I am glad to see I am not the only one seeing this. We are about two weeks earlier, too.

  2. Norwood said,

    May 20, 2009 at 4:44 am

    Same here. I do have some plants that seem to be blooming or returning about the same time, but most seem to be earlier than last year.

    • Jan said,

      May 20, 2009 at 4:47 am

      Norwood, the gingers seem to have come back about the same time as before, but other things are blooming earlier. My clerodendron ugandese or Blue Butterfly Bush has buds, too, and that is very early for this plant.

  3. mcl said,

    May 20, 2009 at 9:58 am

    Hey..I think my things are blooming later..but what do I know? I know a very cool site for those of you who are getting interested in this kind of phenomena. Check it out at http://phenology.osu.edu/. Dr. Herms and his network/group have been collecting data on the time of insect emergence and recorded plant development for quite a few years now. Have a nice day.

  4. mcl said,

    May 20, 2009 at 10:01 am

    OOPS. Probably people would be interested in the national site at http://www.usanpn.org/.

  5. Jackie said,

    May 20, 2009 at 10:02 am

    I’m jealous! (just kidding of course). Everything is blooming later in our area. We had a really harsh winter and a very cool spring so things are late this year. And, for the past 2 nights we’ve had frost. But warm is expected tomorrow so that may help a bit. -Jackie

  6. ryublade said,

    May 20, 2009 at 10:23 am

    Jan, that’s a beautiful red bleeding heart vine. I have a white one, which has just started filling in with leaves and flowers. Last month, it was just twigs and looked dead but has really gotten going with the warmer weather in the last few weeks.

  7. May 20, 2009 at 11:31 am

    Beautiful and very exotique looking. On this other side of the earth it is very early too, April was extremely warm.

    Tyra


Leave a Reply

