Prettiest Daylily?

“Prettiest Daylily?”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Last spring, at the New Orleans Garden show, I bought two daylilies.  They were Misty Mayhaw, which bloomed during mid-summer, and Vanilla Fluff, which did nothing.  Soon after buying these two daylilies, I read in Southern Living magazine a daylily expert’s opinion that Vanilla Fluff was the prettiest daylily around.  That statement got me excited, and all summer I kept checking VF for a flower, but nothing showed at all.  I did realize that the two fans I got were a little on the small side, so I was hoping for a flower but realistic enough to realize it probably wasn’t going to bloom.

Forward to this spring and each plant has a bloom scape.  By this past Monday, one bud had really started to swell, and finally, on Wednesday, it opened.  It is lovely.

 

Vanilla Fluff (redu)

 

The plant is not too big yet, but the flower is.  It still looked fresh and lovely even after dark.  Once these plants get a little bigger and make a nice sized clump, I think they will be gorgeous.  Even though I had to wait a full year to see the actual flower, it certainly was worth it.

I don’t know if Vanilla Fluff does qualify as the prettiest daylily, but I do think it is at least in the top ten.

 

UPDATE:  I forgot to add that this is also a fragrant daylily that has an almost honeysuckle aroma.  One more quality that makes this a great daylily.

12 Comments

  1. Randy said,

    May 21, 2009 at 6:31 am

    Oh, she’s definitely a beauty! Good choice, Jan!

  2. May 21, 2009 at 7:50 am

    Wow! The flower IS huge! Great find, Jan!

    • Jan said,

      May 22, 2009 at 4:44 am

      Thank you, Chandramouli, this daylily surpassed my expectations. When I bought it, I only had a small picture of the flower to go by, and I really bought it strictly on its color.

  3. Phillip said,

    May 21, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    Wow, that is a stunning daylily!

    • Jan said,

      May 22, 2009 at 4:46 am

      Thanks, Phillip. I think so too. The two plants I have are only one fan each, and I am hoping it starts multiplying soon.

  4. donna said,

    May 21, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    My goodness, the flower is huge for the size of the plant. I think that daylily expert from Southern Living might know what he’s talking about.

    • Jan said,

      May 22, 2009 at 4:48 am

      Donna, it is a big flower. It must be a tetraploid because the flowers are very thick. I think that guy did know what he was talking about, and I am glad I already had a Vanilla Fluff when I read that article.

  5. Ken said,

    June 4, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    Vanilla Fluff is large double diploid daylily with creamy self hybridized by Joiner(1988). It is very fragrant. Another similar daylily is Land of Cotton but with more of an ivory color also by Joiner in (1991). This one will rebloom with consistant double blooms. It is one of our top sellers. A good source on daylily cultivars is http://www.daylilies.org

    • Jan said,

      June 5, 2009 at 11:53 am

      Thanks, Ken for the info on Vanilla Fluff. I have seen Land of Cotton in pictures and had considered getting that one, too. After your info, I just might have to see about adding it to the garden.

  6. Ken said,

    June 11, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    This is a nice blog you have here Jan. My wife and I have been propagating plants for many years. All the plants we have are basically from our own propagation. We now have a very nice display of plants that people can tour. About three years ago we had so many plants that we were giving them away to friends and family. We then took the advice from family to selling our plants. That is when we turned our little, actually big, plant hobby into a back yard nursery business. It soon became quite a chore keeping up with sooo many kinds of plants. So we shifted or focus on the two perennial plants that we enjoy growing and collecting the most, which are Daylilies and Hostas. We now have over 50 varieties of daylilies and over 25 varieties of hostas and growing. Its fun to read about other plant enthusiasts and what they like. Once again, Jan, thanks for creating this friendly blog. Happy planting!
    Ken
    http://www.pickalilygardens.com


Leave a Reply

