Already Pink

“Already Pink”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

I try to keep a record of when plants bloom, emerge from winter dormancy, or how they grow in general, but now I find that is not enough.  I need to be a little more specific.  Case in point, the oakleaf hydrangeas.  Mine have already started to turn pink.

 

Oakleaf Hydrangea (redu)

 

It seems to have happened overnight, and I also think this is a little early.  Once they turn pink, they do not last very much longer which would be a shame.  I wonder if this could be in response to the unseasonably cool weather we have been having for the last six days.  Could this plant think it has missed summer, and fall is on the way?  I doubt this.

 

Oakleaf Hydrangea II (redu)

 

Most probably it is my memory that the reason I am surprised these are already pink.  I guess I just don’t remember them turning so early which is why I need to take notice and keep a record.  I thought the white flowers would be around longer and repeat that color so that when other white flowers start blooming soon, that area of the garden would be better unified.

Even though the oakleaf hydrangea flowers have turned, they still are attractive and add to the garden, so I am not too disappointed to see the rosy pink color appear.

 

 

8 Comments

  1. Randy said,

    May 22, 2009 at 5:25 am

    Jan,
    I think you are right, it is early. I noticed it here too.

  2. Jan said,

    May 22, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    Randy, so it is the same for you? At least that shows my memory is not totally gone.

  3. Garden Mary said,

    May 22, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    I have noticed some things seem to be early, some right on time, and some a little late. I think it is just normal variations.

  4. Norwood said,

    May 22, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    Same here, Jan. Some plants have bloomed earlier, but most are just about right on time. But you are right it is good to have a record of bloom time for plants.

  5. May 22, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    Oh it is so pretty and full of blooms. We are enjoying this cool weather as last year is was miserable.

    • Jan said,

      May 23, 2009 at 5:50 am

      Anna, we got a little more cool weather with this low that is in the Gulf. Of course, there is high humidity, but I’ll take the cooler temps. I am hoping to get some rain from this low, we really need it. The hydrangeas are a pretty pink, aren’t they? I am enjoying them while I wait for the mopheads to color up.

  6. Chandramouli said,

    May 22, 2009 at 11:01 pm

    Too bad they don’t last long. Do they bloom in summer too or are they fussy about heat?

    • Jan said,

      May 23, 2009 at 5:52 am

      Chandramouli, they only bloom once, in the spring. The flowers will last a long time turning from white to pink to brown. Even when brown, they are lovely – kind of papery. Once they turn brown they can last until fall if we don’t get too many heavy rainfalls.


Leave a Reply

