In the Pink

“In the Pink”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Since I wrote yesterday about the pink cashmere bouquet in the side garden, I thought I would continue in the “pink” theme and show a few other plants that are now blooming there.  One of my favorites that is blooming right now is the pink vitex tree.

 

Pink Vitex (redu)

 

This is only the third summer that this small tree has been in the garden, but it is growing nicely.  (I do have the more common purple variety about thirty feet away from this pink one, but the purple flowers have not opened yet.)  I love the soft pink color of the flowers which offers a nice contrast to the nearby dark foliage of the lorepetlum shrubs.  This is also near the Blushing Knockout and Caldwell pink roses, and that placement helps repeat the pink color.

 

Blushing Knt (redu)

 

Caldwell Pink (redu)

 

Another pink flowering perennial a little farther down is the crinum.  Every year it gets bigger and puts out more flower stalks.  The flower clusters look like small amaryllis blooms.  There must be a dozen or more stalks already this year.

 

Crinum (redu)

 

And, of course, there are the hydrangeas.  The oak leaf hydrangeas are already a deep pink, and the mophead hydrangeas have just started showing their pink color.

 

Oakleaf Hydrangea (redu)

 

Hydrangea Bush (redu)

 

Just one of these large mophead hydrangea flowers would make a wonderful bridesmaid’s bouquet don’t you think?

 

Pink Mophead (redu)

 

There are still a few more of the pink-toned flowers yet to bloom in this area, and lest you think that everything is pink, I’ll be posting soon about the lavender and purple flowers that are interspersed to break up the pink.  But, for now, the pink garden is certainly coming into its own.

 

 

10 Comments

  1. Racquel said,

    May 27, 2009 at 9:52 am

    I love the color pink in the garden and you have some wonderful examples! I didn’t realize the Vitex tree came in pink.

    • Jan said,

      May 29, 2009 at 10:21 am

      Racquel, the pink version of Vitex is not as common as the blue/purple, but they sure look good together. I got the purple one first and then, years later, found the pink.

  2. nancybond said,

    May 27, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    Those pinks are so different, but each one so beautiful. Lovely!

    • Jan said,

      May 29, 2009 at 10:22 am

      Thanks, Nancy. It is amazing how that area of the garden slowly evolved into the pink garden, and all because of the original azaleas.

  3. Sherry said,

    May 27, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    Pink is one of my favorite colors and I love your pink garden, Jan. Love them all, especially the soft color in the vitex, and the crinum is very pretty!

    • Jan said,

      May 29, 2009 at 10:24 am

      Sherry, one of the things I liked about that vitex was its soft pink color. I can’t wait until it is a little larger; I think it will certainly be a pretty sight.

  4. Randy said,

    May 28, 2009 at 6:34 am

    Okay! How do you do it! I’ve never seen a pink Vitex before. How on Earth do you find all these incredible plants? Of course you know I’m going to be on the lookout for one now. I am amazed at all the interesting new (to me) plants that you find!!!

    • Jan said,

      May 29, 2009 at 10:31 am

      Randy, I think it must be that I am just in the right place at the right time. I do live in an area that has a lot of growers (though there used to be more), and I go to small nurseries which seem to be more willing to stock the unusual or different plants. Also, many times when I attend garden shows sponsored by university ag centers or master gardeners, there is always someone with something different to sell. You found the Amelia azalea, I am sure a pink vitex will come your way, too.

  5. Jackie said,

    May 28, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    What lovely shades of pink! I don’t have much pink in my garden… mostly purples and yellows and reds, but I’m planting some pink cosmos this weekend. -Jackie

    • Jan said,

      May 29, 2009 at 10:34 am

      Thanks, Jackie. I started out planting all white flowers in my garden, but gradually, things evolved with more colors showing up. I think it happens because I was attracted to a plant I just had to have and then plan the rest of the garden to make it fit in. This is what is happening to orange in the back garden.


Leave a Reply

