Glad Happy

“Glad Happy”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

You don’t see  many gladiolus in gardens.  I don’t think it is because they have fallen out of favor since I don’t remember seeing them in gardens years ago, either.  I only remember my paternal grandmother having them on the side of her house when I was a child.  No one else, only her.  I wonder if they are not more popular because they have to be staked as they can flop over very easily if not supported.  Or, maybe people just aren’t doing the mixed borders anymore.  Anyway, it seems a shame they are not seen more often.

I started putting in gladiolus bulbs several years ago when I wanted more yellow flowers in the circle garden.  I bought what was supposed to be yellow gladiolus, but it turned out to be a light orange with a big yellow center.  Through the years, these bulbs have grown bigger and bigger, and the color has changed.  The yellow centers are not as predominate, and the orange color has become much darker.  At first I was very disappointed in these flowers, but now, I really do like them.  They certainly do stand out with such a vibrant color.

 

Orange Gold Gladiolus (redu)

 

I still didn’t give up hope for yellow gladiolus flowers.  The next year I tried again, and this time, the packages were labled correctly.  Soft, pretty yellow flowers appeared.  These bulbs were not as vigorous as the orange ones, but they have become sturdier as the years have gone by.

 

Yellow Glad (redu)

 

Since I had such good luck with these two colors, I tried some pale lavender ones in the “pink” garden.  I felt that some height was needed there as well as a complementary color for the pink, and these gladiolus bulbs turned out to be perfect.

 

Lavender Glad (redu)

 

This year, I purchased some pink gladiolus bulbs (Friendship) from Brent and Becky’s bulbs.  They came a little later than I like to plant them, so while the foliage is up, they have not started blooming yet.  If these do well, and I am sure they will, I will be buying more colors from Brent and Becky’s for early summer color. 

I am able to leave the gladiolus corms in the ground during the winter here.  Because of this, all of one color blooms together.  If I would plant them in stages two weeks apart, as is often recommended, I would have a longer bloom period for these flowers, but that seems too much trouble when there is so much to do in spring time already.

While most often used as cut flowers in arrangements, I am happy that I decided to add these wonderful flowers to my garden beds.  I wish more people would realize how easy these are to grow and what a wonderful spike of color they can add.

16 Comments

  1. Randy said,

    May 29, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    Jan,
    That first photo is absolutely incredible! I really think you should frame it.

    • Jan said,

      May 30, 2009 at 8:14 am

      Thanks, Randy. I am slowly improving my photography skills along with my gardening ones.

  2. May 29, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    You are fortunate to be able to leave these in the ground year-round! I planted a few this year… but I admit to being lazy by the time Fall comes. I hope I remember to dig them up before Winter, here! How’s that Swam clematis??

    You have a great blog and I need to visit more often!!

    • Jan said,

      May 30, 2009 at 8:16 am

      Thanks, for the kind words about my blog.
      I, too, have trouble remembering to dig things up once fall arrives, which is why I usually leave things in the ground.
      The Swamp clematis is doing fine. I have had several blooms already, much earlier than last year.

  3. Robin said,

    May 29, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    Ooh, I love gladiolus, too. I think they are some of the most exquisite flowers around. I planted some in a strange place years ago, in complete shade, and they are about to bloom in the next few weeks, strange as it sounds. I like your idea of planting them in stages, because you’re right, they are the best for cutting.

    • Jan said,

      May 30, 2009 at 8:18 am

      Robin, I am so glad to hear that you have them in your garden, too. I see the corms for sale, but never see them growing in anyone’s garden. I, too have a few in a fairly shady spot, and they seem to be doing fine.

  4. donna said,

    May 30, 2009 at 5:40 am

    I’ve wondered about gladiolus, too. Don’t see them growing in yards very often, but do see them in large country garden plots; these are the ones that make their way to Farmer’s Market.

    • Jan said,

      May 30, 2009 at 8:19 am

      My grandmother lived in the country, maybe that is why she had them and I didn’t see them where we lived – it’s a country thing.

  5. linnie said,

    May 30, 2009 at 6:40 am

    the blooms on your gladiolus are beautiful. I remember when I was a wee girl we had May crownings in honor of the Virgin Mary and all the children would bring flowers from home to the ceremony. I remember that a lot of the flowers were gladiolus. Maybe I need to add a few glads to my garden. Thanks for the memory

    Linnie in Destrehan, LA 5/30/09

    • Jan said,

      May 30, 2009 at 8:22 am

      Linnie, one of the reasons I remember my grandmother’s gladiolus is because she gave me some to bring to our May Crowning. I think because these make great cut flowers, they were used so often for ceremonies like a May Crowing.

  6. Janet said,

    May 30, 2009 at 6:50 am

    I love that lavender one!! A nice delicate color! Racquel and I were at Brent and Becky’s yesterday! 😀

    • Jan said,

      May 30, 2009 at 8:24 am

      Janet, I am jealous again of your close location to Brent and Becky’s. I, too, love the lavender gladiolus. It is a lot lighter than what was pictured on the package, and I am glad.

  7. May 30, 2009 at 9:18 am

    I don’t see these much any more either. When I was little I remember seeing them much more. Great pictures – I agree- definitely worth framing! -Jackie

    • Jan said,

      May 30, 2009 at 1:49 pm

      Jackie, thanks for the feedback on the photos. With so many people writing and say that they, too, do not see these in gardens, it make you wonder who is buying all the corms I see in the stores.

  8. ryublade said,

    May 30, 2009 at 10:52 am

    I remember my dad used to grow them in our garden when we were kids. My Mom would always cut them and donate them to our church to use as altar decorations. Yours look so pretty and have convinced me to add a few to my garden next year. Since they can be left in the ground in our area, planting them two weeks apart would only guarantee succession blooms the first year, right?

    • Jan said,

      May 30, 2009 at 1:55 pm

      Yes, if you left them in the ground only in the year they are planted would you get the succession of blooms. Mine tend to bloom by color. The lavender are first, then the yellow, followed quickly by the orange. If you would dig them up in the fall and then replant in the spring every two weeks, you would have a succession of blooms, but I find that too much trouble. I just think maybe planting a few more each year would be fine. I am certainly glad I have these planted in my garden, and you ought to try some next year.


Leave a Reply

