A Star

“A Star”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

I have written before about how white is my favorite flower color, and one of my favorite white flowering shrubs is just now in full bloom.  It is a large white lace cap hydrangea that I received from my sister as a small plant.  I have it placed in a fairly shady area of the garden, and its white blooms just brighten up that spot so well.

Lg White Lacecap Bush (redu)

While I usually prefer the mophead hydrangeas, this lacecap is a standout.  It is about four feet high and about four feet wide and stays covered with flowers for months.  The flower clusters tend to be large on this bush, about eight inches across.  This is one of the few flowers that I cut and bring inside.  An arrangement of these on a dining room table just means summer to me.

Wh Lacecap (redu)

About three years ago, when I cut this shrub back to control its growth, I tried rooting some of those cuttings.  Just about every one of them was a success.  I planted about eight of them on the opposite side of the property in the front of a shady area which gets morning sun and bright shade the rest of the day.  This year is the first time that they have all bloomed with multiple flowers.  They are only about two feet high now, but it they are anything like their parent, they will soon be a very nice size.

Sm Wh Lacecap bush (redu)

Hydrangeas are such great garden plants, and lacecaps (Hydrangea macrophylla normalis) should be planted more often.  They have the same growing requirements as the mopheads – some afternoon shade and moist soils.  I also find the lacecaps are a little easier to site in the garden than the mopheads because the lacecap’s growth is more open, graceful, and subtle.  Just like the oakleaf hydrangeas, the lacecaps fit in well into “woodsy” locations (where I have mine) and fit in well in front of trees or around other shrubs.  In the right location, you just can’t beat a lacecap.  I am so glad that my sister introduced me to this white lacecap because it has become a star in the shady areas of my garden. 

10 Comments

  1. Garden Mary said,

    May 30, 2009 at 7:00 pm

    How pretty. I am not familiar with lace caps, only the old-fashioned mopheads. I’ll definitely have to look into these. Something about these white ones reminds me of dogwood trees. Maybe it is the way the flowers seem to layer around the bush.

    • Jan said,

      May 31, 2009 at 3:38 pm

      Mary, I didn’t know about lacecaps until a neighbor across the street had a pink one. At first, I didn’t like them, but they have grown on me. Now, I wouldn’t be without one.

  2. Norwood said,

    May 30, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    These white flowers really stand out, don’t they? I have some pink lacecaps and I have to agree with you that these do well as understory shrubs. I often bring some of these flowers to my church for decorations. The flowers do seem to last in arrangements as well as on the bush.

    • Jan said,

      May 31, 2009 at 3:40 pm

      Norwood, I have some pink ones also, though they used to be more blue. I don’t know why it has changed since I am not doing anything different. I bet they do look nice in your church.

  3. Racquel said,

    May 30, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    Gorgeous Lacecap! I really need to take cuttings of my favorites to make more free plants for the garden. You have convinced me of it now… 🙂

    • Jan said,

      May 31, 2009 at 3:41 pm

      Racquel, I just hated to throw away all those cuttings. I was able to make a lot of plants and shared them with my sisters and mother as well as having several to place in my garden. Nothing like free plants.

  4. donna said,

    May 31, 2009 at 5:46 am

    Congratulations on the successful rooting of your cuttings from this beautiful plant. Now you can enjoy it in other areas of your yard. The name, white lacecap, seems so perfect for it.

    • Jan said,

      May 31, 2009 at 3:43 pm

      Yes, Donna, it is a perfect name. Like I said earlier, these were not my favorites, but I have come to appreciate them in the right spot.

  5. Janet said,

    May 31, 2009 at 7:27 am

    All my lacecaps are blue/ pink that white is really pretty.

    • Jan said,

      May 31, 2009 at 3:45 pm

      Janet, my other lacecaps came from an elderly neighbor’s plants. They started out a pinkish blue, but in the last two or three years have changed to just pink. The white one is a much larger shrub and the flowers are larger, too.


Leave a Reply

