Uncommon Flowers

“Uncommon Flowers”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

One of the daylilies my sister from Virginia sent me last year has bloomed.  This was one of the few she had sent to me that I marked with its color since I did not know the name.  It is a lovely double apricot/gold color.  I say it is apricot/gold color because last year, the first year it bloomed, the color was definitely apricot, but this year it has a more gold color.

 

Apricot Daylily

 

I usually prefer the double flowered varieties of any kind of flower, but when it comes to daylilies, that isn’t the case, I like all kinds.  This double one is so pretty.  I think this might be Condilla, but I am not sure as the daylilies I received were not marked.  This particular one is planted where it is now getting some shade, but that has not stopped the blooming.  Even though this is the first flower, there are several scapes showing each with multiple flower buds.  Since many of the other daylilies have already finished blooming, this spot of bright color was a welcomed sight.

I have not been growing daylilies very long, but they have certainly become a mainstay of our early summer garden.  I love seeing the ones blooming in other bloggers’ gardens; it gives me ideas for some I may want to add to my garden.  Daylilies may be very commonly grown, but they certainly are uncommon flowers.

14 Comments

  1. Brenda Kula said,

    June 2, 2009 at 10:57 am

    Don’t have a single daylily left in that garden. Must have gotten swept up with the jungle that was here before I started in with it. Of course I wouldn’t have gotten rid of a daylily on purpose! Such beautiful, durable flowers. Never met one I didn’t take to.
    Brenda

    • Jan said,

      June 2, 2009 at 5:58 pm

      Brenda, I think I feel the same way about daylilies – never met one I didn’t like. When your construction is finished, you’ll have to replace some of your missing daylilies.

  2. June 2, 2009 at 11:12 am

    I love any type of double bloom as well. I have noticed that I have 6 or 7 double daylilies in my garden, for some odd reason I have never notived them before…which is strange, and they have been popping up in places that I don’t recall planting them?!?!?!?!

    • Jan said,

      June 2, 2009 at 6:00 pm

      I had a daylily pop up this spring in an area where I had moved some daylilies over five years ago. I know I didn’t leave it there. I wonder if it could have been from a root that was left behind? That’s the only thing I can think of. Maybe that is what is going on with yours.

  3. Sheila said,

    June 2, 2009 at 11:13 am

    It is beautiful!

    • Jan said,

      June 2, 2009 at 6:00 pm

      Thanks, Shelia. I think it is pretty special, too.

  4. Ewa said,

    June 2, 2009 at 11:47 am

    These look just fabulous! shape and color are perfect.
    Greetings,
    Ewa

    • Jan said,

      June 2, 2009 at 6:01 pm

      Thanks, Ewa. It is amazing how Mother Nature is able to form such perfect flowers.

  5. Mary Beth said,

    June 2, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    I’ve just begun growing daylilies too – but can’t decide whether I want a monochromatic color scheme or a wildly eclectic one! Love that they bloom and bloom and bloom some more. Mary Beth

    • Jan said,

      June 2, 2009 at 6:03 pm

      Mary Beth, I have some areas of my garden where it is just basically one color and other areas where there are mixes or complementary colors. I couldn’t decide either, so I went with both.

  6. nancybond said,

    June 2, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    Oh, that colour reminds me of a beautiful sunset. 🙂 Wonderful.

    • Jan said,

      June 2, 2009 at 6:04 pm

      You are right, Nancy, it does look like a golden sunset. This color reminds me of autumn, and I wished it would bloom then.

  7. June 2, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    I love day lilies too. I just ordered some bareroot plants from Brecks. I’m not sure if they will bloom this year but it’s still early in New England so I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

    PS- I have an award for you on my blog.

    -Jackie

    • Jan said,

      June 4, 2009 at 6:12 am

      Jackie, I recieved mine last year from Oakes Daylilies, and they all bloomed the first summer, so yours probably will too, esp. if they are a good size.
      Thanks for the award, I appreciate your picking my blog as one of the recipients.


Leave a Reply

