Garden Work

“Garden Work”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

A very unusual cool front has moved through South Louisiana in June.  The dry, cool weather is so very welcomed.  Because of this glorious weather, I was able to work in the garden and get some of the heavier work done.  Today, I was able to trim back shrubs, cut back some shrubs, and edge and weed a few flower beds. 

I don’t know where I recently read that the one thing that you can do to spruce up a garden is to edge, but today I found that is so true.  The circle garden is the only one of the beds that does not have some type of edging and being surrounded by St. Augustine grass, a running type grass, it needs the edges neatened up about twice a year.  I did the two outer half circles today and will finish the inner circle tomorrow, and even though it is not entirely finished, what I did do made a vast improvement.

Another new daylily bloomed today.  I bought three of these at least three years ago, and when I received it, I couldn’t believe how small they were.  I have tried to pamper these daylilies, and it has been so long that I don’t remember if they have all survived.  But, I was pleasantly surprised to see this red one blooming early this morning.  It still had yesterday’s rain drops on it.

 

Red Daylily (redu)

 

I just may have to move this one to the front garden because where it is now, it is getting too much shade.  Besides, with this color, it will fit right in to the red and purple color scheme of the entry garden.

Tomorrow is forecast to be the last day of this cool, dry weather.  I’ll be out in the garden early to take advantage of these great working in the garden temperatures.  I hope everyone else has the same great weather to work in or just enjoy a summer garden this weekend.

5 Comments

  1. Garden said,

    June 6, 2009 at 3:11 am

    The perfect spot to let your vines and climbing roses grow and prosper. Garden

  2. linnie said,

    June 6, 2009 at 11:39 am

    Jan the weather has really been great since the rains. Even better the humidity is way down. As you did I took the opportunity to do some heavy chores. I ordered four cubic yards of mulch and have managed to move about half of it today. I will work more tomorrow, I know I am in a race with Louisiana heat and humidity. Wish me luck.

    Linnie in Destrehan, LA 6/6/09

    • Jan said,

      June 6, 2009 at 4:13 pm

      Linnie, I know that is a lot of work to do and this is the weekend to do it. I have been working outside, too, and am amazed at this cool weather.

  3. Brenda Kula said,

    June 6, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    I think the cool front missed us. It’s been in the nineties. Course, it could be worse!
    Brenda

    • Jan said,

      June 6, 2009 at 4:15 pm

      Too bad, Brenda. It was 61 degrees this morning – absolutely lovely weather. Tomorrow will be more humid so it will feel much hotter, and then by Monday, back to the muggies.


Leave a Reply

