Red Star

“Red Star”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

One of my favorite colored flowers has started blooming today which is a little earlier than usual.  I think it is blooming so early because it has finally become a good sized plant so it recovers from winter faster.  I am talking about Texas Star (Hibiscus coccineus), a perennial hibiscus.

 

Texas Star (redu)

 

I just love the deep cherry red of this flower.  This is a hardy hibiscus here, though it will die back in the winter, it reliably returns every spring.  It is hardy to zone 6, and some say zone 5.  Once it starts blooming, it will bloom all summer long. 

One of the aspects of this plant that I like is that it grows tall – four to six feet.  It definitely gives me the height I need in my garden, however, I do occasionally cut back some of the stems so that there is a layered look and not all top growth or too rangy.  Another good thing about this hibiscus is that it grows well from seed.  I have grown several from seed and have placed them all around the garden.

In the heat of summer, it is certainly nice to have such a brillant red flower showing up.  It has such a large flower, such a bright color, and such great height that it can be admired from inside the house while enjoying the air conditioning.

10 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    June 8, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    I love that hibiscus, have it in lots of places in my garden. Mine gets even taller than 6 feet. Have had some folks come through the garden and wonder just what I was growing! 😉 The hummingbirds and butterflies love the flower and the goldfinches love the seed pods.

    • Jan said,

      June 9, 2009 at 10:00 am

      Janet, I, too, have had several people want to know what that big red flower was. I am still waiting for someone to question what it is after seeing the leaves.

  2. June 8, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    So beautiful! I’d love to have that on my patio this summer. -Jackie

    • Jan said,

      June 9, 2009 at 10:01 am

      Jackie, these do lend a tropical flair to a summer patio. There is also a white version, but I have only seen it on the internet.

  3. Sylvia (England) said,

    June 9, 2009 at 2:21 am

    Jan, this is really interesting. Hardy to zone 6 means I should be able to grow it but perhaps our summers are not hot enough. What do you think? Does anyone know if it would flower in our cooler summers? I should be able to find a somewhere that sells the seed, so it is worth a try. I have a lovely sunny, border that needs some height!

    Best wishes Sylvia (England)

    • Jan said,

      June 9, 2009 at 10:03 am

      Sylvia, I think if you have enough sun, it will bloom. If you think the ground may not warm up enough, you can grow these in containers and just place them in the border. However, if you can grow other flowers, I think this should do well for you.

  4. Chandramouli said,

    June 9, 2009 at 3:49 am

    Whooooa! What a deep red – and the petals look so unique. Never seen such a hibiscus variety before! Lovely, Jan.

    • Jan said,

      June 9, 2009 at 10:05 am

      Chandramouli, this is such a lovely deep cherry red flower and so big. The flower is about eight inches across, so it really stands out. I like that it is perennial and will return in the spring.

  5. Randy said,

    June 9, 2009 at 5:40 am

    Jan, everything seems to blooming early this year. I was looking over last years post for this time and we seem way ahead of schedule. Beautiful photo of the Hibiscus. 🙂

    • Jan said,

      June 9, 2009 at 10:07 am

      Thanks, Randy. I am beginning to think that many of my plants that are blooming earlier really are just better established and bigger than ever. I think because they have better root systems, they are just recovering from winter earlier. The reason I think this is that I have too many plants that are blooming on schedule, and it seems as if everything should be blooming early not just some of the plants.


Leave a Reply

