True Blue

“True Blue”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

It is often hard to find true blue flowers for the garden.  Most of the time, when a flower is described as “blue”,  it ends up being some shade of purple.  However, there are three true blue flowers blooming right now that makes me wish for more blue in the garden.

The first one is Blue Daze.  This is the third summer they have been in the garden having overwintering two years now.  These are so easy to root that I must remember to take cuttings for more blue-flowered plants in the garden.

 

Blue Daze (redu)

 

The next blue flowering plant is bog sage.  I received this plant from my daughter’s neighbor who had a huge clump of this growing in her garden.  I don’t have as big a grouping as she did, but I am working on it.  While its common name is bog sage, it does not need to be in an overly moist area.  It grows just fine in regular garden soil.  Its light blue flowers certainly is a selling point for this sage.

 

Bog Sage (redu)

 

Finally, there is the plumbago which a neighbor gave me last year, and I still have not planted yet.  I have been slowly working through the container plants that I have collected that still need to go into the ground.  I guess this plumbago should be next to be planted.

 

Plumbago (redu)

 

In winter time, blue pansies brighten the wintry days, while in summer, it is these blue flowers which brighten up a garden.  I certainly wish there were more “true blue” flowers I could have in my garden.

10 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    June 9, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    On our study trip there was a large clump of comfrey all in bloom..very blue, it was striking.

    • Jan said,

      June 10, 2009 at 8:10 pm

      Janet, comfrey is something I have never grown. I did see a photo of chicory that had a lovely blue flower, and I am thinking about trying to grow that.

  2. Cecila said,

    June 10, 2009 at 5:30 am

    You are right about there being so few blue flowers and most “blues” are actually purple. I love the blue daze. Now that is a real blue.

    • Jan said,

      June 10, 2009 at 8:11 pm

      Cecila, I, too, love the blue daze and now, would never be without it in our garden.

  3. Randy said,

    June 10, 2009 at 7:57 am

    Jan,
    Blue is Jamie’s favorite color so we have a lot of it. His blue balloon flowers are a gorgeous shade. Our Vitex is a brilliant shade of blue right now too. We planted Plumbago last year and it was gorgeous, but for some reason it didn’t return.

    • Jan said,

      June 10, 2009 at 8:13 pm

      Randy, I, too, have lost plumbago in the past, but the one I have now is doing well and is fairly large. My vitex is more of a purple color than a blue, but I agree with Jamie that blue flowers are so lovely.

  4. donna said,

    June 10, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    The Blue Daze is so gorgeous that I did a google search to find out more about it. First thing I read was…”tropical and tender perennial”…..which eliminates it from being planted in Zone 4. I’ll have to be satisfied to look at your photos of it.

    • Jan said,

      June 10, 2009 at 8:14 pm

      Donna, blue daze makes a fantastic hanging basket. In fact, my mother just bought one, and it made me want one. While it would be an annual in your area, it would be worth it even if you only had it during the summer.

  5. June 10, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    Me too, I love blue. Plumbago stays small here as it dies back at the hint of cool September days but I still plant it about every year.

    • Jan said,

      June 10, 2009 at 8:16 pm

      Anna, plumbago gets huge here which is why it is so popular. It is a great shade of blue and is so pretty when covered in blooms. I can understand why you grow it even though it is only an annual for you.


Leave a Reply

