Royal Purple

“Royal Purple”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Yesterday, I wrote about the true blue flowers blooming right now in our garden, and today, I thought I would feature some of the purple colored ones.  Often flowers that are described as being blue end up really being a shade of purple.  Now purple is often associated with royalty, and many of these purple flowers have a certain regal air about them. 

I think the ones with the deepest purple color would have to be the hosta blooms.  They started blooming last week, and the bumble bees have been very busy searching out the nectar from these flowers.  I love the deep color of the buds and the striations on the flowers.

 

Hosta Bloom (redu)

 

Also blooming right now is the vitex tree.  I have both the pink and the purple flowering kinds, and I can’t decide which I like better.  But, today I will show a photo of the purple one.  This tree is now about twelve feet high, and was an offspring of my mother’s tree.  I can’t wait until mine is a tall and wide as hers is because it is truly a beautiful tree.  It is what those of us in the deep south grow instead of lilacs.  While it does not have a fragrance, it does have pretty flower spikes.

 

Purple Vitex (redu)

 

Another purple blossom is the clematis crispa.  It has been blooming nonstop for about six weeks now.  This is the one I thought I had killed earlier this year, but it has come back better than last year.

 

Clematis Crispa (redu)

 

Next is the agapanthus.  From a distance it looks light purple or lavender, but up close you can see that it is really white with a blue or light purple stripe.  These plants have really grown, and I will definitely have to divide them this year.  These flower stalks are over six feet tall and make a very stately appearance.

 

Agapanthus (redu)

 

Purple flowers really do blend in with all the other colors in the garden.  I have them mixed with pink flowers, yellow flowers, and red flowers, and the purple helps unify all the areas of the garden as well as setting off the other colors.  What would we do without purple?

6 Comments

  1. June 10, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    I can’t imagine my garden without purple. I love the color and have lots of it. -Jackie

    • Jan said,

      June 11, 2009 at 5:10 am

      Jackie, even though I rarely consciously buy purple flowering plants, I do seem to have a lot of them. A lot of my volunteers turn out to be purple, too. I think Mother Nature is trying to tell me something.

  2. fairegarden said,

    June 11, 2009 at 4:20 am

    Hi Jan, what beauties you have there. The agapanthus always beckons me, but I am not sure of the hardiness here. The color purple really ties together all the other hot colors and calms them down enough to please the eye. It is also flattering to an aging female in her attire. 🙂
    Frances

    • Jan said,

      June 11, 2009 at 5:12 am

      Frances, if purple is flattering to an aging female, that must be why that poem states: When I am old I will wear purple. I agree with you about purple tying other colors together which is why I have started to use it throughout our garden.

  3. June 11, 2009 at 5:18 am

    I havent come across a Vitex tree before – it does look stunning

  4. donna said,

    June 11, 2009 at 7:49 am

    Hosta flowers always present a dilemma for me…..leave them or cut them off. The hummingbirds love them so, but I find the blooms of some varieties to be unattractive and eventually all hosta blooms leave a terrible mess on the leaves. Some of the blooms are fragrant and others no so much. I’ve read the plants are better off w/o the flowers because they can put the energy back into the plant instead of flowers and seeds. Who knows? I leave many but try to get them cut off before the mess begins. And who can say no to a hummingbird? BTW, your hosta bloom is in the attractive category.


Leave a Reply

