June GBBD

“June GBBD”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Thanks to Carol of May Dreams Gardens for coming up with Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day.  This is the day (15thof the month) in which we post everything which is blooming in our gardens.  This is a great way to keep a record of what is blooming each month.

Here it is already Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day again.  I am surprised with all the heat and no rain that I still have so many things blooming.  Usually, it seems by the time summer sets in not as much is flowering and I have to depend on foliage plants, but there still is a lot of flowers showing up.

I still have some daylilies blooming.  Of course, there is good, old, dependable Stella.

 

Stella d'Ora (redu)

 

Next is Plum Tree with a little tree frog resting inside.

 

Plum Tree Daylily w Frog (redu)

 

Another daylily that is blooming is the red daylily, a miniature.

 

Red Daylily (redu)

 

Next is an unnamed daylily.  Unnamed because it was mislabeled.

 

Daylily (redu)

 

A few daylilies that have already bloomed are showing new bloom scapes, but they aren’t far enough along to have blooms for this Bloom Day. 

Next, comes the roses.  All the Knockouts are blooming – the red, the pink and Blushing, but a few others still are blooming like Caldwell Pink and The Fairy.  I have a miniature rose that has been in the garden about ten years, and it has just started blooming.  It reminds me of Caldwell Pink and The Fairy, but it is only about ten inches high even though it is that old.

 

Rose, Minature (redu)

 

And, of course, I have to post a photo of Iceberg every chance I get so please bear with me.

 

Rose, Iceberg (redu)

 

Some of the cannas are blooming, now.  Tropical Sunrise and the mislabeled one I wrote about a few days ago.  There are a few more which should be blooming soon.

 

Canna Tropical Sunrise (redu)

 

The variegated shell ginger has been blooming for some time now, but the green shell ginger has just started.  I was rather startled to see this ginger blooming.  I only put it in last spring (it was from my sister’s garden), and it is in deep shade.  I thought it would need more sun to bloom.

 

Ginger, Green (redu)

 

The asters that my mother gave me in early 2008 are blooming now.  When they finish blooming, I will have to remember to cut them back so that they will bloom again in the fall.

 

Asters (redu)

 

The yellow, the lavender, and the orange gladioli are still blooming.  But Friendship, which I bought from Brent and Becky’s has only started blooming in the last week.

 

Gladiolus Friendship (redu)

 

Only the pink variety of the Katie ruella is blooming right now.  The white and the purple are not blooming yet.  Since these are perennial here and low growing, I am using them instead of annuals for some summer color.

 

Ruella Katie Pink (redu)

 

As for the red flowers, a few of the fall planted petunias are still holding on for one more month, the red pentas are blooming nicely, the Jacob Kline monarda is flowering and attracting the bees and hummers, and the gerber daisies are doing  very nicely.

 

Gerber Daisy (redu)

 

The salvias are all in bloom, the hibiscus, the hostas, the jasmines, the lantanas, and the hydrangeas, too.  In fact, most of the plants that I have posted about in the last few weeks are all still blooming.  The Easter lilies have finished, but the Triumphator lilies I bought from Brent and Becky’s Bulbs are gorgeous.  I’ll have to do a seperate posting on these lilies, but for now here is a photo for GBBD.

 

Lilies Triumphator (redu)

 

Like I stated already, I am surprised that I still have so much blooming with so little rain and such hot temperatures, but I am grateful.  Now, make sure you head on over to May Dreams Garden and check out what is blooming in everybody else’s garden.

 

22 Comments

  1. donna said,

    June 15, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    The Triumphator lilies look too perfect to be real. Can’t take my eyes off of them. I’m a big fan of asters but never get to see mine bloom because of the bunnies. Any day now, they’ll be nibbled down to the ground.

    • Jan said,

      June 16, 2009 at 6:13 pm

      Donna, aren’t those lilies just perfect? I was so pleased with them, and I can’t wait for them to come back next year. What a shame about the rabbits and your asters. Isn’t there someway you could protect them?

  2. Janet said,

    June 16, 2009 at 4:56 am

    Beautiful blooms Jan. Love the Triumphator Lilies. Such a delicate pink. (Adding it to my list of pinks!) I have a miniature rose, a yellow one. It just blooms and blooms.

    • Jan said,

      June 16, 2009 at 6:16 pm

      Janet, those lilies were from Brent and Becky’s, and I couldn’t be happier with them. I am just starting to plant lilies in the garden, and so far, I have not been disappointed. These lilies are planted close to the Blushing Knockout roses and the combination is so lovely. I used to have about five mini roses, but only two have survived. My daughter has a yellow mini, does nothing to it, and it is gorgeous.

  3. Randy said,

    June 16, 2009 at 6:42 am

    I’ve always thought Shell ginger was so pretty. All of your blooms are just beautiful.

    • Jan said,

      June 16, 2009 at 6:17 pm

      Thanks, Randy. I planted the shell ginger to block the next door neighbor’s yard, and the flowers are an added bonus.

  4. Jake said,

    June 16, 2009 at 9:49 am

    Wow, you have so much blooming right now that looks awesome.

    Jake

    • Jan said,

      June 16, 2009 at 6:18 pm

      Thanks, Jake. I have slowly been adding plants to the garden that would give continuous bloom, and now it seems to be paying off.

  5. Jean said,

    June 16, 2009 at 11:07 am

    I like that pink ruellia. We don’t see enough of those around here. Love your lilies!

    • Jan said,

      June 16, 2009 at 6:20 pm

      Thanks, Jean. I am putting in low growing plants like the Katie and Pink Splash in place of summer annuals. I am hoping by doing this to cut down on some spring garden work. You are right, we need to see more of Katie.

  6. Jake said,

    June 16, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    Yes I love Colocasia too! I got Big Dipper from my home state, Kentucky, at Brian’s Botanicals(http://www.briansbotanicals.net/). They are located in Louisville and were slow to ship, but they sent good quality plants. I think they were slow because I ordered in March and KY continued to get to freezeing close to May this year. Please do a post in the future of your Colocasia’s I would like to see them. Thanks fo reading my blog, keep on coming back.

    Jake

    • Jan said,

      June 16, 2009 at 6:21 pm

      I will have to do a post on the colocasia, Jake. My nephew moved to Louisville about four years ago, and when my sister goes to visit, I will tell her she has to go to Brian’s Botanicals. I checked out the website, and they had some very interesting plants. Thanks for the info.

      • Jake said,

        June 16, 2009 at 8:24 pm

        They really do, I wish when I lived in Lexington I had known about it and known they had an actual store location. I may move back close in a year or two and I am excited to know it’s there, lol.

        Jake

      • Jan said,

        June 17, 2009 at 7:23 am

        It does sound as if you miss Kentucky, Jake. One of the reasons that my sister and I look for nurseries or garden centers in other nearby cities is to find plants not offered locally. I am glad that we are finding some.

  7. joco said,

    June 16, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    Hiya Jan,

    Hot and dry for you, cold and wet for us: we ought to swap from time to time 🙂
    Iceberg looks so cool and soothing. I’m not surprised you are fond of that rose. And being able to grow Gerberas outside is wonderful. Mine have to remain on the windowsill throughout the year.

    • Jan said,

      June 17, 2009 at 7:30 am

      Joco, it would be nice to swap the weather occasionally. I am lucky to be able to grow the Gerber Daisies outside. They have overwintered here the last three years.

  8. Muum said,

    June 17, 2009 at 7:13 am

    thanks for your kind comments on my blog! We have 3 iceburg roses, too, and just love them. They seem to be neglect/abuse-proof! love that ginger, too.

    • Jan said,

      June 17, 2009 at 7:42 am

      You are welcome. I agree that Icebergs are a great rose and is easy to care for.

  9. June 17, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    The ‘Triumphator’ lily is gorgeous! I think maybe I should get me some of those!

    • Jan said,

      June 18, 2009 at 4:45 am

      Kylee, I am so pleased with theses lilies. I just may have to add some more.

  10. Sweet Bay said,

    June 18, 2009 at 7:30 am

    I am drooling over your Triumphator Lilies. They are gorgeous! Another one to add to the want list. 🙂

    • Jan said,

      June 18, 2009 at 7:39 am

      I love these,too. And to think it was only by accident that I found them.


Leave a Reply

