No Rain = Rain Lily

“No Rain = Rain Lily”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Today, I am going out very early to do some garden work before the heat gets too bad.  As soon as I finish this post, I’ll be starting. 

But before I start, I had to share this unexpected flower.  For many years now, I have had rain lilies in the garden, but lately most have not been blooming.  I don’t know it they are overcrowded or what, and being such small bulbs, I guess they have been overlooked.  Imagine my surprise when I saw this yesterday.

 

Pink Rain Lily (redu)

 

What’s so surprising?  Well, we haven’t had any rain in weeks.  These lilies need a good rain shower to start blooming.  So, why, with no rain, are they suddenly blooming?  I have been watering, but I have done that in the past, and they haven’t bloomed.  I can’t answer this, so I’ll just enjoy this pretty, petite, pink flower. 

10 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    June 19, 2009 at 6:34 am

    What a pretty pale pink bloom. Enjoy!

    • Jan said,

      June 20, 2009 at 9:14 am

      Thanks, Janet. I just love these little flowers and am disappointed they don’t bloom more. When I had them in pots, they bloomed more. Maybe I need to take them up and put them back in containers.

  2. Randy said,

    June 19, 2009 at 7:02 am

    Jan,
    The answer is obvious… Those are No Rain Lilies! 🙂

    • Jan said,

      June 20, 2009 at 9:15 am

      Randy, I think they just got tired of waiting for the rain and just decided to bloom anyway.

  3. Phillip said,

    June 19, 2009 at 7:17 am

    I have this one too and so far, they haven’t bloomed this year. They usually start blooming more dependably later in the summer. I find them very unpredictable.

    • Jan said,

      June 20, 2009 at 9:16 am

      Phillip, I am glad to hear that you find them unpredictable. Like I told Janet, I am considering putting them back in containers where they bloomed better.

  4. June 19, 2009 at 9:01 am

    We desperately need a good shower!

    • Jan said,

      June 20, 2009 at 9:17 am

      April, I am with you. We are almost ten inches down on our rain for this year. I’d even settled for just some cloudy days to keep the temps down a little.

  5. Racquel said,

    June 19, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    We could use a good rain shower here too. Lucky you to have an unexpected bloom inspite of the lack of it. 🙂

    • Jan said,

      June 20, 2009 at 9:18 am

      Racquel, just about all the southeast could use some relief from this hot, dry weather. The rain lily flower does help a little.


Leave a Reply

