Finally, A Correct Label

“Finally, A Correct Label”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

A few days ago, I was complaining about mislabeled plants and how I was not going to buy anything that was not blooming to insure the plant was what the label said it was.  It is sometimes so difficult to pass up packages of bulbs or plants when they are being sold at such a good price or when this is the only way you can get a plant you want.  And then, there are the times when the label is accurate.  Such is the case with the white crinum I bought in early 2008.

One of the plants I have recently started to appreciate is the crinum.  My sister has given me some pink ones, and once they started blooming, I wanted more.  MS of Zanthan Gardens very generously offered me some seeds from her Milk and Wine crinum when she read that I would love to have some of those in my garden.  While those are doing well, it will be a while before they are bloom size.  So, last year when I saw a package of two white crinum bulbs for under $6.00, I grabbed them to put in the “white” garden.  I planted them and hoped for the best.  I figured it would be a few years before they might bloom, and when I saw a bloom stalk five days ago on one of the plants, I was thrilled.  Two days ago, I could tell that the flower was going to be white, and I gave a sigh of relief since I have been having such bad luck with mislabeled plants.

 

Wh Crimum (redu)

 

While the foliage and flower shape is very much like an amaryllis, something about the flower reminds me so much of Easter lilies.  I am surprised that this has bloomed so soon after planting the bulbs; I thought it would take about two to three years at least before a flower emerged.  Now, it only remains for the other bulb to bloom, and hopefully, it will also send up a white flower, too.  Because this time the bulbs were labeled correctly, I hope my resolve to only buy flowering plants in bloom will not weaken.

Happy Father’s Day to all the dads.  I hope you have a great day.

6 Comments

  1. mothernaturesgarden said,

    June 21, 2009 at 9:15 am

    If only I could keep my resolves. 😉 I like the all white one. I have a thing for white. Mine are pink and haven’t bloomed yet.

    • Jan said,

      June 22, 2009 at 5:32 am

      I know what you mean, Mother Nature. Now, that one purchase has turned out to be correct, I know that will make me hope the next time I see a good deal, I’ll be tempted. I’ll just have to remember all the times I have had to dig up plants and move them because they clashed with something nearby.

  2. June 21, 2009 at 11:14 am

    Yes, I’m the same as Mother Nature’s garden: I make those resolves, and then I break them when deeply tempted by a new plant. We’ll see if all my coneflowers bloom the colours they’re supposed to….

    • Jan said,

      June 22, 2009 at 5:36 am

      Jodi, I have been the same way, but now I am going to really try to stick to my resolve. I am just so tired of buying the what turns out to be the wrong plant.

  3. donna said,

    June 22, 2009 at 5:49 am

    Your “white” garden must be stunning with blooms like this. I have zero resolve in a garden center, so I just go with whatever I’m feeling at the moment.

    • Jan said,

      June 23, 2009 at 5:15 pm

      Yes, Donna, I am very pleased with how that section of the garden is coming along. This is the area I dedicated to my dad after he passed away in 2006. I usually buy plants at the garden centers that appeal to me with no thought as to where in the world I will put them, but if I want a particular plant or color, I am not going to buy them unless they are blooming. I have had too many disappointed.


Leave a Reply

