A Few Bright Spots

“A Few Bright Spots”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

The heat is becoming unbearable.  Last night at 10:30 PM, the heat index was still 98 degrees, and this morning at 6:00 AM the heat index was already at 88 degrees.  I don’t even want to think what it will be by this afternoon.   It does look as if by next week we may get some relief and a more typical summer weather pattern may be established.  I sure hope so because those afternoon summer showers are really needed after almost a month of no rain and high temps.

But, I am not going to dwell on the heat (it just seems to make it worse anyway) or the plants that are really suffering right now even with all my watering.  There still are some bright spots in the garden.

The Friendship gladiolus are still blooming and look so good next to the small pink vitex tree and Blushing Knockout rose.  These gladiolus have done so well that I probably will add a few more next year.

 

Friendship Glad (redu)

 

The Yellow Jessamine has started blooming again.  It had bloomed earlier in the spring but stopped as it put out new foliage.  Now it seems ready to continue blooming through the summer.

 

Yellow Jessamine (redu)

 

My favorite lantana has started blooming.  This one is always the last to return after the winter, and this year I cut it back early to make it bushier.  This photo doesn’t show the flowers at their best, but you get to see the color, which adds another dimension of color to the “pink” garden.

 

Lantana (redu)

 

So, until we get some rain or cloudy weather, I looks like my gardening is on hiatus except for the daily watering.  I will have to get my plant “fix” by visiting the more northern blogs and enjoying their plants and flowers.

 

6 Comments

  1. Randy said,

    June 24, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    Jan,
    I feel you pain with the garden and the heat. I haven’t even walked in ours the past three days.

    • Jan said,

      June 24, 2009 at 3:13 pm

      Randy, it has just been unbelievable lately. There are some showers around us, but I am not sure we will get any rain today.

  2. Janet said,

    June 24, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    Pretty pink Lantana, do you know which one it is? I had an Ann Marie one year (annual for my zone) that had lots of pinks in it.
    Can you imagine what it was like before air conditioning? wow.

    • Jan said,

      June 24, 2009 at 3:17 pm

      Janet, I don’t remember the name, but if it had a label, I’ll have that. I will have to go check. I do remember what it was like before air conditioning since my parents didn’t get it until I was around ten. I just don’t remember it being this hot, though. I guess we were more accustomed to the weather in those days.

  3. June 24, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    It is fun to travel around the country visiting blogs and yours is one of my favorites. I too love that lantana but I bought a more peach color this year. I’m loving it with my white brick. I hope you get some relief from the heat. We had that last year and it was awful.

    • Jan said,

      June 26, 2009 at 8:50 am

      Anna, it is fun to visit blogs from other parts of the world. We are hoping for some rain this weekend. I find that lantana is such a reliable blooming plant for the summer. There are not many colors I don’t like.


Leave a Reply

