Favorite Lilies

“Favorite Lilies”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

I haven’t been growing lilies very long; this is only the third summer that I have had them in my garden.  I started growing them by accident.  I only noticed lilies after I had to find an alternate route to work because of road construction, and I started going through an older neighborhood where there were many gardens that had blooming Easter lilies.  After seeing them do well in so many older gardens, I just had to have some.  These are about the only true lilies that are grown around here.  About the time that I put in the Easter lilies, I bought a child’s watering can to use in a wreath.  In the watering can was several bulbs – liatris, some glads, and some Triumphator lilies.  These lilies looked bad.  Long, leggy, yellowed stems.  I planted them and quickly forgot about them.  They did nothing. The next spring, I noticed lilies coming up, and it took me several minutes to figure out where they came from.  To say I was surprised these poor lilies had made it to sprout up is putting it mildly.  I couldn’t believe how lovely the flowers were, so this year I ordered some Triumphator lilies from Beck and Becky’s Bulbs, and again success.

 

Lily Triumphator (redu)

 

This is how the flowers looked when they first open – big trumpets with dark pink centers and a green throat.  I planted these near the pink vitex and a Blushing knockout rosebush.  The colors work so well together especially as the lilies age since the pink fades slightly.

 

Lily and Vitex (redu)

 

Lilly and Blushing Knckt (redu)

 

Even when the lily flowers fade, the soft pink is still lovely.

 

Lily Triumphator Older (redu)

 

One more thing that makes thes lilies so fantastic is the fragrance.  While it does carry a distance in the garden, it is not overpowering or cloying.  It is a delightful, fresh scent.

As you can see, I have really fallen for these lilies.  Now, the only problem is do I order more of these next year or wait a while until they multiply and then spread them around the garden.  If they multiply like the Easter lilies did, I won’t have to wait long to have more.  I don’t think I can have enough of these lovely pink and white beauties.

11 Comments

  1. June 25, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    I love lilies also. But I’ve been reduced to growing them in pots since I helped my daughter move her family and a lot of her plants from Massachusetts. This year I only had one of them bloom. It had no fragrance and lasted less than a week in our hot dry air. So I plan to wait a while before getting more and only getting ones that can handle hot, dry conditions.

    I used to live in Shreveport and have a good friends in Hammond and Covington so went to read your blog after seeing your comment in Zanthan Gardens.

    • Jan said,

      June 26, 2009 at 8:53 am

      I am so glad that you stopped by, Marilyn. I planted some smaller Easter lilies in a container this year, and they did bloom well, but I will have to find a place for them in the garden because I think they do better in the ground than a container. I do find when these lilies bloom early in the spring, they last longer than when it is so hot.

  2. Janet said,

    June 26, 2009 at 4:41 am

    Jan, you have sold me on this lily. I like that it is fragrant too. I was surprised that you said you haven’t been growing lilies very long. Seems like you are a seasoned veteran with them.

    • Jan said,

      June 26, 2009 at 8:59 am

      Janet, I just love this particular lily, especially since I have had such success. I do think that it must be one tough lily since the first ones I planted were so terrible looking. The ones from Brent and Becky that I planted this year were great looking bulbs – big and plump. I had read that lilies, except for the Easter lilies, do not like the deep Gulf South, so I never planted any and no one seems to have them in their gardens. But after reading up on them, I decided to try them out. I probably will try another variety next year and see how that does.

  3. Randy said,

    June 26, 2009 at 7:01 am

    Jan, our orientals aren’t spreading very fast. I say buy more! 🙂

    • Jan said,

      June 26, 2009 at 9:00 am

      Randy, I think you are right – I need to buy more. (Didn’t need much encouragement, did I? LOL)

  4. Phillip said,

    June 26, 2009 at 7:33 am

    I ordered a collection of Orienpet lilies last fall and they are blooming beautifully right now. I want more!

    • Jan said,

      June 26, 2009 at 9:05 am

      Phillip, I am glad to hear that the Orienpet lilies are doing well for you. I will have to look into them. I was going to stick with the Longflorums and trumpet lilies, but maybe I’ll try a few Orienpets. If they do okay for you, they should do fine here. Nothing like experimenting to find out.

  5. Racquel said,

    June 26, 2009 at 9:21 am

    I need to add more Lillies to my garden. I have a couple of Asiatics that come back year after year. Oh & some tiger lillies that more weedy than anything. 😉

    • Jan said,

      June 27, 2009 at 11:33 am

      Racquel, I am so pleased with these lilies, and to think I didn’t think lilies would do well here with our heat and humidity.

  6. Sweet Bay said,

    June 28, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    The Triumphator Lilies are absolutely gorgeous. I forsee an order to B & B’s Bulbs in my future!


Leave a Reply

