Second Time Around

“Second Time Around”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Certain daylilies are blooming a second time around.  Of course, there are the dependable ones like little Stella d’Oro and Happy Returns.  They will bloom just about all summer as long as there is adequate moisture and fertilizer.  The old yellow daylilies from my mom have started their second blooming.  These daylilies must be from at least the very early 60’s because that is around the time she got them from a neighbor.  I’m thinking they must be one of the first reblooming daylilies.

 

Yellow Daylily (redu)

 

Another daylily which has just started reblooming is Eye Yi Eye.  This color is perfect for what is now our hot summer weather.  It is so nice to have the reblooming daylilies because now that the temperatures are so high, not as many plants are flowering.  The garden is starting to look a little too green.  Thank goodness for coleus and hibiscus flowers; at least, they are giving some color.

 

Eye Yi Eye (redu)

 

There is one daylily that is supposed to be a rebloomer, but, in all the years I have had it, it has never done so.  That daylily is Custard Candy.  I certainly wish that it would rebloom since it is such a lovely flower.  In fact, I wish all of my daylilies would rebloom.  I’d love to have them in my garden for a second time around.

11 Comments

  1. mothernaturesgarden said,

    June 27, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    I find I have to keep the daylilies well watered to get second bloom but even better is a nice summer rain.
    Donna

    • Jan said,

      June 28, 2009 at 5:52 am

      Nothing beats a good rain shower; it is so much better that tap water. I have been having to do a great deal of watering lately. Only one small shower in about a month.

  2. joey said,

    June 27, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    You’re sporting some beauties here … my daylilies are just beginning so … much to look forward to. Happy Summer gardening!

    • Jan said,

      June 28, 2009 at 5:56 am

      Joey, I love looking at all the blooming daylilies on other gardeners’ blogs. Since many areas are only just starting to have flowers, I can’t wait to get some more ideas for new daylilies. I’ll be around to see your flowers.

  3. June 28, 2009 at 5:09 am

    Yes, if all daylilies were rebloomers… that would be very nice.

    • Jan said,

      June 28, 2009 at 5:57 am

      Yes, it would be, though I wonder if we would not appreciate them as much as we do when they are so ephemeral. On second thought, I think I still would appreciate them.

  4. Janet said,

    June 28, 2009 at 6:40 am

    Glad you are having some repeaters this summer!

  5. June 28, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    I bought 18 reblooming day lilies. I’m looking forward to them blooming again. -Jackie

    • Jan said,

      July 2, 2009 at 11:53 am

      Jackie, I think I am going to have to get more reblooming ones, too. Midsummer so many of my flowers stop blooming and these daylilies would be great.

  6. Sweet Bay said,

    June 28, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    The yellow rebloomer is just lovely.

    • Jan said,

      July 2, 2009 at 11:54 am

      Thats an old daylily. My mother got in in the early ’60’s from a friend who had oodles of this plant in her garden.


Leave a Reply

