Squeezing in Garden Chores

“Squeezing in Garden Chores”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Another weak cool front seems to have moved through our area.  While it does not bring cooler temps, it does bring in drier air which makes the air feel so much nicer.  This is very unusual for the Gulf South to have any fronts like this to move through at this time of the year.  What makes this so nice is that I was able to work in the garden today.  I continued planting several container plants that should have already been planted in the garden.  Down here, you have to do just about all your garden work before the middle of June before the real heat sets in. It was nice to get several chores done that had been aggravating me every time I went out and saw so much that still needed to be done.

 

Misty Mayhaw (redu)

 

Still not much blooming right now.  The daylilies, Misty Mayhaw, have started blooming again, which is nice.  I can’t wait for cooler temps which will bring more blooms out in the garden.  So many plants seem to be taking a blooming holiday until late September. 

One thing that is not taking a holiday are the pests.   I have already had to battle a horde of azalea caterpillars and grass hoppers, and now something has been chomping on my Mutablis rose bush.  I was so happy when earlier this summer the June bugs didn’t attack it like last year, but it seems I was a little too early in thinking it had escaped.  I noticed this morning that just about every leaf  except the newest growth was eaten.  I heard the plane that sprays for mosquitoes pass over two nights ago, and I hope it also got whatever has been eating one of my favorite rose bushes as well as the mosquitoes.

I am hoping that tomorrow’s weather is like today’s.  I sure would like to get out in the garden to try and finish up some more garden jobs.

 

8 Comments

  1. tina said,

    July 23, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    This weather has been unreal! And such a wonderful July as I’ve never seen when living in the south. The dry air is sure something you want to take advantage of. Misty daylily is a beautiful pink.

    • Jan said,

      July 31, 2009 at 8:06 pm

      That dry spell which lasted about three days was a real treat, Tina. Isn’t Misty Mayhaw a lovely daylily? It has really been blooming a lot this summer.

  2. nancybond said,

    July 23, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    I wish you could send some of your dry weather this way. 🙂 I hope it stays nice enough for you to work in the garden again. I always look forward to seeing the parade of day lilies in everyones’ gardens this time of year.

    • Jan said,

      July 31, 2009 at 8:07 pm

      Nancy, I wish you could send us some of your weather, too. Those few days were awfully nice.

  3. Janet said,

    July 24, 2009 at 5:41 am

    Hi Jan, We still could use more rain in our area. It has been cooler this year. In our Learning Garden the lace bugs are creating havoc on the azaleas.

    • Jan said,

      July 31, 2009 at 8:08 pm

      Janet, some years we, too, have had severe problems with lace bugs, but not this year. If you are not getting enough rain, at least the cooler temps help things not dry out as fast as when it is hot.

  4. July 27, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    We have had so much rain in July that I don’t believe we are living in the Midwest any longer. One day over 90 degrees so far in July. We have been able to get in many days of gardening when usually it would have been too hot.

    • Jan said,

      July 31, 2009 at 7:48 pm

      Jeff, this certainly has been a year for different summer weather patterns. Everyone is talking about how much rain or cooler than normal weather the Midwest and the Northeast are getting. I can’t believe how many areas haven’t had a day over 85 degrees yet. Enjoy your cool weather and maybe send some our way.


Leave a Reply

