Sultry Summer

“Sultry Summer”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

We have had rain the last few days which is a wonderful thing after so many weeks of little to none.  However, the humidity has been a killer.  Monday morning, when I went out to get the newspaper, I thought I would not make it to the end of the driveway and back.  The air was so thick it felt as if a hot, damp blanket had been thrown over you.  Of course, this meant no leaving the air conditioning and no work outside.  It is just too miserable.  We usually have many days like this here along the Gulf Coast, but I do have to admit this is the first time this summer it has been this bad.

I am not the only one staying inside looking for cooler, drier temperatures.  You don’t see anybody outside.  You don’t see dogs outside walking around.  Or kids playing.  Or walkers.  Even the squirrels are taking it easy.  The only creatures that seem unaffected are the bumble bees.  They are happily going from flower to flower sipping nectar and gathering pollen.

 

Bee on Cashmere Bouquet (redu)

 

Bee on Pk Vitex (redu)

 

The bumble bees are the only ones I see working.  The honey bees are all hanging out at the bird baths drinking water, and I don’t blame them.

It is on days like this that I have to give thanks to Willis Haviland Carrier, the father of air conditioning.

7 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    July 30, 2009 at 6:12 am

    Amen!! Can you imagine life in colonial times, wearing layers of wool, in this heat??? auugghhh

    • Jan said,

      July 31, 2009 at 7:30 pm

      Janet, I often think how romantic the past seems to be and often wish I lived back then, but then I quickly remember the modern conveniences I would not want to live without. Modern medicine and air conditioning come to mind immediately.

  2. Phillip said,

    July 30, 2009 at 7:31 am

    I hate to hear that your humidity is bad. Our weather hasn’t been too bad and we should get rain today. It has been a strange on the weather front.

    • Jan said,

      July 31, 2009 at 7:25 pm

      Phillip, I just can’t get over this year’s summer pattern. Portland with 100’s, and the northeast hardly getting over 80. I can’t wait for drier weather.

  3. Randy said,

    July 30, 2009 at 9:26 am

    You are wise to stay inside. I had forgotten about the Cashmere Bouqet. 🙂

    • Jan said,

      July 31, 2009 at 7:24 pm

      Randy, I don’t feel like I have any choice with this weather. Cashmere Bouquet is a great summer bloomer.

  4. Jake said,

    August 2, 2009 at 12:11 am

    I am glad to see people here you live are normal. The people here in Florida don’t sweat not even in this recent weather. I am still on my northern temperture range and die if it gets into the 80’s, so I have been dieing since May when we started being in the 90’s everyday.

    Jake


Leave a Reply

