Update on Pinecone Ginger

“Update on Pinecone Ginger”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

A few days ago, I posted about the first “pinecones” that have showed up on the pinecone ginger I planted in spring of 2008.  Today, I noticed that the flowers have appeared on the cones, which means it should not be too long before the cones turn red.

Pinecone Gin 2 (redu)

As the above photo shows, the flowers just pop out of the cone.  Since this is the first year I have ever seen these, I am not sure how many flowers will show up or how long they will last.  Everything about this plant will be a learning experience.

The flowers, while small, are pretty.  They are a dark cream or pale yellow and appear very delicate.  The petals look like tissue paper.  The flowers remind me a little of my yellow four o’clocks.

Pinecone Gin 1 (redu)

Now that the flowers have appeared, it probably won’t be too long before the cones turn red.  I’ll keep you posted when they do.

3 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    August 7, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    When you talked about this flower last time I assumed the blooms would be quite different than what is emerging now! How fun, I look forward to more posts as they continue to open.

  2. Jan said,

    August 8, 2009 at 5:15 am

    Janet, I was surprised too with the flowers. It is fun growing something totally new and seeing how it can be so different from everything else in the garden.

  3. Andrew said,

    August 18, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    That is a very interesting flower. I knew ginger were diverse but I’ve never seen one like that before. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

