White for Night

“White for Night”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

I have often mentioned how white flowers are my favorite, and right now one of the few rose bushes that is blooming better than ever is Iceberg.  I do have to admit that the flowers are a little smaller than usual, but what the flowers lack in size is more than made up for by the numbers.  This is the best these bushes have bloomed.

 

Iceberg (redu)

 

It amazes me how fast the sun is going down now.  After being on vacation and not having to watch the clock, now that I have to be aware of how the evening is slipping away, the white flowers are really appreciated.  The last two days I have been getting home much later than normal because I was attending a technology conference.  When you come home and dusk is just about to fall, it is very nice to have these white flowers waiting for me, standing out in the  slowly darkening garden.

3 Comments

  1. Jake said,

    August 12, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    That is very beautiful flower, I love how it is an actual white color. Some whites sometimes seem to be more of a yellow or green. I too have also noticed how the sun is going down. The sun use to not touch my Lanai, but now come half way up the concrete where it is already that much lower.

    Jake

  2. Randy said,

    August 13, 2009 at 7:02 am

    Jan,
    I envy your rose growing ablility. That sure is a beauty!

  3. Sweet Bay said,

    August 13, 2009 at 7:26 am

    White flowers really do have a magical quality at night, don’t they? Especially with a Sphinx Moth flitting around.


Leave a Reply

