Parking Lot Flowers

“Parking Lot Flowers”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

This morning when I pulled into the parking lot at work, right in front of my reserved space, were the prettiest flowers growing out of the concrete.  They brought to mind Tennyson’s “Flower in the Crannied Wall”.  I guess they are a wildflower that just found a good spot to grow.  I have not seen any plants like this growing around, and I don’t recognize them, but they sure are sweet.

 

Blue Parking Lot Flwrs 3 (redu)

 

There are three clumps, all close together, growing in cracks in the blacktop.  I checked at the bases of the plants and couldn’t even see where there was any open space for them to grow.  If they weren’t so tightly stuck in, I would dig them out to plant in the garden.

 

Blue Parking Lot Flwrs (redu)

 

If you recognize these flowers, let me know.  I’d certainly like to know what they are.

 

Blue Parking Lot Flwrs 2 (redu)

8 Comments

  1. journal4rhea said,

    August 20, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    They could be wild common harebells. Aren’t they beautiful?
    They grow at my daughter’s cabin in northern Minnesota, in the natural brush along the shore of the lake.
    Come see my gardens at http://www.artbyrhea.wordpress.com

  2. Janet said,

    August 20, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    Very pretty flowers Jan. At first thought petunias came to mind…but that is probably not correct. Very sweet though.

  3. Phillip said,

    August 20, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    I don’t know but they are really pretty.

  4. Jake said,

    August 21, 2009 at 12:27 am

    I can’t identify the flowers for you, but they are really pretty. This is a perfect example of the “Will to Survive” post that I posted two days ago. Plants want to live and want to survive and will try anyway to live.

    Jake

  5. Randy said,

    August 21, 2009 at 6:26 am

    Hmmm Jan. Sounds to me as if it was placed there just for you. 🙂

  6. donna said,

    August 21, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    Here in Wisconsin I see these same flowers growing and blooming right out of the concrete and ashphalt. They seem to be every where and I always wonder how they get moisture and nutrients. Don’t know why, but I never thought about a name for them. Will see what I can come up with. Nice post.

  7. Teresa said,

    August 21, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    Isn’t it amazing how that happens, and yet you can plant some plants and give them every advantage and still they won’t grow. Go figure. I agree with Randy…They were put there to brighten your day.

  8. linda said,

    August 21, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    Hi Jan, I think they’re ruellias. Maybe Ruellia strepens or humilis, I’m not sure. There are several varieties of native petunias.


Leave a Reply

