A Sign of Autumn

“A Sign of Autumn”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

The wheel of time keeps turning.  It is not only that the days are getting shorter that tells us summer is slowly coming to an end, but it is also the angle of the sun that hints to us that autumn isn’t too far off.  Even though it is still very warm, it seems that more signs are showing that the hot weather won’t last forever.  One which I have noticed is the appearance of more and more spider and their webs.  While we always have a few little spiders out and about year round, come autumn, they really are all over the garden.

One of the ones that caught my eye while I was fertilizing the roses for the last time this year was a spiny orb spider.

 

Spider (redu)

 

I almost walked right into this web but was able to stop just inches away.  I always try to avoid tearing spider’s webs because it makes me feel so bad.  They work so hard to get their web up and usually something rips it, so I don’t want to add to their trouble. 

There are also a great many orb weaver spiders with orange bellies around, but I never could get near enough to take a photo.  I know that soon the big yellow orb weavers will show up.  Those are the ones that make huge webs that make the garden look like Halloween.

I love to go out early on an autumn morning and look at all the webs covered with dew.  When the sun hits them they are so gorgeous.  We have a lot of spider webs in the garden on the north side of our house.  I think this must be a fairly protected area from the wind.  There is the house on one side and a stand of bamboo on the other.  Usually the webs are found in the azaleas near the house or strung along the bamboo.  I guess it won’t be too very long before all the autumn spiders start adorning bushes and trees with their lovely weavings.   It is hard to believe that summer is just about over.

12 Comments

  1. August 23, 2009 at 6:09 pm

    Wow, Jan, what an interesting looking spider this is! I don’t believe I have ever seen any like it before. I, too, like to try and keep their webs from being broken. Sometimes I accidentally run through them and get a shivery feeling for a few seconds…and I have to feel all over my head and body to be sure the spider isn’t crawling on me! I do like them, but not on me! I like the way you described how autumn brings them in more often and how they’ll soon be autumn decor in your yard! I’ll keep my eye opened for interesting spiders more often now!

    • Jan said,

      August 26, 2009 at 6:25 pm

      Jan, it is amazing how many little creatures there are in our gardens. They say it is a good thing if spiders show up in your garden, that means no pesticides.

  2. Janet said,

    August 23, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    What an interesting looking spider. I don’t think I have ever seen one like this.

    • Jan said,

      August 26, 2009 at 6:26 pm

      Janet, we have these a lot around here. I am not sure if they are only in the South or not. They remind me of little sea shells.

  3. August 23, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    I have never seen this spider–looks like something out of SciFi. I like to see dew drops glistening on spider webs.

    • Jan said,

      August 26, 2009 at 6:28 pm

      Anna, this is a very different-looking spider, all right. I guess I just have always taken them for granted, but there seems to be a lot of people who have never seen this particular one.

  4. Jake said,

    August 23, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    The hope of autumn makes me feel so happy. I guess I have to wait until November to get those autumn temperatures though. Very cool picture!

    Jake

    • Jan said,

      August 26, 2009 at 6:28 pm

      I’m looking forward to cooler autumn temperatures too, Jake. Can’t wait.

  5. Sweet Bay said,

    August 24, 2009 at 11:18 am

    The big writing spiders are everywhere in the garden now — there was even one who’d spun a web on the back porch screen door — a sure sign that fall is around the corner.

    • Jan said,

      August 26, 2009 at 6:31 pm

      It seems to me that fall seems to be coming a little more quickly than ever before. It seems that even late August should have more daylight hours. Spiders are only one of the signs that we don’t have too much longer to wait for autumn.

  6. Amy Emerick said,

    August 25, 2009 at 8:25 am

    That’s a great picture. I can’t say I have ever seen one of those spiders before. I live in Austin and can’t wait for fall and the temperature to get cooler! We desperately iare n need of some rain!

    • Jan said,

      August 26, 2009 at 6:32 pm

      Thanks for the photo feedback, Amy. We need rain, too, as well as some cooler temperatures.


Leave a Reply

