A Real Beauty

“A Real Beauty”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

After having such a hot summer, this cool spell that showed up the last two days has been very welcomed.  It has felt almost like October here.  This really has put me in the mood for fall and its pleasant temperatures.  With the cooler weather, the asters and other late bloomers really seem to be in season.  One of my favorite bushes is starting to put on its glory.  I am referring to American Beautyberry shrub with its bright magenta berries that are ripening now.

 

Beauty Berry Bush (redu)

 

Years ago, I admired a neighbor’s bush and wished I had them in my yard.  I looked around in the nurseries, but never saw any for sale.  This seems to be one of those plants you need to get as a pass along.  Well, in a few years, I guess the birds spread the seeds from the neighbor’s bush to my garden because all of a sudden I had a few of these bushes.  At this time of year, I am certainly grateful to those birds.

 

Beauty Berries (redu)

 

The berries are thickly clustered on the stems and are such an unusual color that they don’t seem real.   Such a vibrant color.  I have a few of these bushes spread around the garden, but I bet a whole row of these as a hedge would be spectacular in late August and early September when the berries are in there prime.

Seems like the ripening of the beautyberry is just one more sign that the year is winding down.

12 Comments

  1. Robin said,

    August 25, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    Lucky you! This has been on my wish list! I wish the birds would be ever so kind to send one my way! I haven’t seen any of them around here, so I guess I’ll have to eventually buy one. I just love those purple berries!

    • Jan said,

      August 26, 2009 at 6:20 pm

      Robin, my daughter’s plant that I gave her is huge and covered with berries. Hers gets more sun than mine, and this time of year it is spectacular. I wish mine looked more like hers.

  2. Jake said,

    August 25, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    Wow, I have heard of this bush, but never saw any pictures of it. I would say it is worth planting, those berries are beautiful.

    Jake

    • Jan said,

      August 26, 2009 at 6:22 pm

      Jake, the picture doesn’t do the plant justice. The berries are a deeper magenta than the photo shows. My father called this plant French Mulberry which is another old, common name for this shrub.

  3. Tyra said,

    August 26, 2009 at 9:10 am

    I agree a true beauty! Never seen a bush like that before. But I bet it is poisonous…

    Tyra in Vaxholm

    • Jan said,

      August 26, 2009 at 6:23 pm

      Tyra, I wouldn’t try to eat them, but the birds will. We have a lot of bird feeders so our berries last a while before the birds seem to find them.

  4. Phillip said,

    August 26, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    I love this plant too.

    • Jan said,

      August 26, 2009 at 6:24 pm

      It is a great plant, isn’t it, Phillip?

  5. mothernaturesgarden said,

    August 27, 2009 at 11:01 am

    I have one for the first time this year. I haven’t noticed color. I must check on it.
    Donna

    • Jan said,

      August 31, 2009 at 7:59 pm

      Donna, you can’t miss this color.

  6. Sweet Bay said,

    August 29, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    The beautyberries starting to ripen here too. I’ve seen them growing wild in a few places, such as the large tract of land that the local community collage owns. The berries truly are a spectacular color!

    • Jan said,

      August 31, 2009 at 8:01 pm

      I think these plants must really spread easily. I see them at the edges of woods around here. A large grouping of them would be something to see at this time of the year.


Leave a Reply

