Firebush Blooms

“Firebush Blooms”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

My firebush has started blooming well.  I really like this plant, but, unfortunately, it freezes to the ground every winter and takes a while to come back every year.  Right now mine is about three feet high.  I wish mine would get big like others I see.  The ones next to the building where I work are huge; they are about ten feet tall, but then that area is a whole zone warmer than my home is so they rarely freeze to the ground.

Since the flowers are very attractive to bees, hummingbirds and butterflies, this is really a good plant for a garden.  I love the bright orange, tubular flowers and the deep green foliage on this shrub.  Mine is growing where there is a lot of shade, but still it puts out a great many flowers.  This is also an easy-to-care-for plant with no pests that bother it, drought tolerant after it is established, and can take clay soils.

 

Firespike (redu)

 

This is just one more plant that really brightens up the late summer garden, and makes the migrating ruby-throated hummingbirds extra happy, too.

10 Comments

  1. nancybond said,

    August 27, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    How pretty and bright — a cheery end-of-summer gift. 🙂 I can imagine the hummers love those red blooms.

    • Jan said,

      August 31, 2009 at 7:52 pm

      Yes, Nancy, the hummers really are hanging around this plant. They must be storing up energy for their migration which should start soon.

  2. Sunita said,

    August 27, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    I’ve seen these plants in full bloom here in Mumbai. They really are stunners, aren’t they?

    • Jan said,

      August 31, 2009 at 7:53 pm

      Sunita, it always amazes me how many of the same plants are grown in such different parts of the world. Thank goodness for those early plant explores who brought us all these wonderful flowers, shrubs and trees from far off places.

  3. Colibri said,

    August 29, 2009 at 3:41 am

    How pretty and bright — a cheery end-of-summer gift. 🙂 I can imagine the hummers love those red blooms.;. All the best!!

  4. donna said,

    August 29, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    If the firebush makes the hummers happy, then I know it would also make me happy.

    • Jan said,

      August 31, 2009 at 7:54 pm

      Then, Donna, you will be happy.

  5. Jake said,

    August 30, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    I almost got one in the spring, but wasn’t sure about it. I wish I could have gotten now for the hummer’s.

    Jake

    • Jan said,

      August 31, 2009 at 7:55 pm

      Jake, you will have to get one next spring. You won’t be sorry because not only does it bring the hummingbirds, but it also brings a lot of color to the late summer garden.

  6. Jean said,

    September 1, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    I’ve always loved those plants and am interested to hear that yours does well in the shade. I haven’t been able to find that plant up here but then again, I’m not sure if it would come back from our winter anyway.


Leave a Reply

