Decisions

“Decisions”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana


My pine cone ginger has finally turned red!  I was so excited when I saw this since I was waiting and waiting to have one mature to this color.

Red Pine Cone Ginger (redu)

I have only seen pictures of these so having a few in my own garden is a treat.  In case you don’t remember, I bought these in late October of 2007 and didn’t get a “pinecone” in the summer of 2008.  Earlier this year when this ginger put out two cones, I was thrilled and couldn’t wait to see them turn red.  Finally, I get to have the full pinecone ginger experience.

I haven’t decided if I should pick them for an arrangement or not.  They are supposed to last a long time as a cut “flower.”  Since these are also known as shampoo ginger because of a substance that can be squeezed from the cones that will suds up and wash hair, I don’t know if I should try that too.  For now, I am just enjoying the red cones and planning for next year when I will, hopefully, have even more.

6 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    August 31, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    So very unusual looking! Thanks for sharing.

    • Jan said,

      September 1, 2009 at 4:30 am

      It is so unusual, Janet. It has a waxy appearance and almost looks fake.

  2. Sweet Bay said,

    September 1, 2009 at 8:10 am

    Beautiful! It that a bloom or seed pod?

    • Jan said,

      September 2, 2009 at 6:04 pm

      I am not sure. This is the first time I am growing this. I’ll have to find out.

  3. September 1, 2009 at 11:33 am

    Never seen that one—but it is very unusual. It does look fake but I know you would never do that.

    • Jan said,

      September 2, 2009 at 6:05 pm

      It is very unusual and does look artificial, but it is not. Another one is even bigger, but hasn’t turned red yet.


Leave a Reply

