Doing Very Well

“Doing Very Well”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

I wrote some weeks back about the Cat’s Whiskers I planted this spring.  Boy!  These plants have certainly grown from the small four-inch pots I bought.  The three plants that are in the white garden certainly have been putting out the flowers.

 

Cat's Whiskers (redu)

 

The have taken up the slack of less flower-producing plants.  I just don’t seem to have the flowers like other years.  As I have said before, I think the extreme heat we had in June affected a lot of my blooming plants.  We have had some unusual cool fronts come through, in fact, we are in the midst of one now.  I can see that with the cooler and dryer air that many plants are starting to bloom more.  Tonight, I noticed the Iceberg roses are starting to bloom again.

But, back to the Cat’s Whiskers, the plants must be three feet wide and three feet tall now.  These would be great as a temporary fill-in until shrubs or the like grow big enough to fill a space.  I particularly like going out in the early evening to look at these plants.  The white flowers almost look like candles hovering around that area of the garden when it is starting to get dark. 

 

Cat's Whiskers (redu)

 

All in all, since these are doing very well in the garden, I am very pleased with these plants and look forward to planting even more next year.

10 Comments

  1. Jake said,

    September 3, 2009 at 7:51 am

    Those look cool! I love plant’s that grow fst and fill in a space in the same season you plant them.

    Jake

    • Jan said,

      September 4, 2009 at 5:19 pm

      Jake, I am really pleased with these plants. While they won’t last through the winter here, I am hoping that they will reseed. If they don’t, however, I will be sure to buy some more next spring.

  2. jeff-nhn said,

    September 3, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    These plants are so cool! I wish I could grow them here in the Midwest. The border you created looks stunning.

    • Jan said,

      September 4, 2009 at 5:20 pm

      Jeff, you probably could grow them as annuals just about anywhere. These are fast growers and will certainly be big plants in no time.

  3. September 4, 2009 at 4:46 am

    nice pics. Cat’s Whiskers is something i am seeing for the first time. Searching on the net whether i can grow it or not. thanks for sharing.

    • Jan said,

      September 4, 2009 at 5:26 pm

      Thanks, Muhammad. I think these grow just about anywhere as an annual, so you probably could grow them. Since this is the first year I have had them, I am still learning about if they will reseed or not. I am pretty sure they will not survive even our mild winters.

  4. Sweet Bay said,

    September 5, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    Those are flowers I have been meaning to the garden for several years. They are so striking and elegant, and make a fabulous combination with ornamental grasses.

    • Jan said,

      September 7, 2009 at 5:19 am

      I had seen these in the garden center for years but never thought to put them in the garden because there was so much shade. After Hurricane Katrina took down several large trees and there was more sun, I have had the opportunity to plant more sun loving flowers. A silver lining to a dark cloud.

  5. Patty said,

    September 6, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    I love the cat’s whiskers. I wish we could grow them here in Virginia, but alas we get too cold. There are a limited selection of perennials here. I like to find unusual ones, but so far I haven’t found too much but the usual. At least in the spring, we have peonies. You always seem to have such a variety of plants. I love your pictures.

    • Jan said,

      September 7, 2009 at 5:11 am

      Thanks, Patty. Since this is the first year I have planted cat’s whiskers, I am not sure they will survive even our mild winters. So these will probably be annuals in my garden too. I have read that they are supposed to reseed well, so I am hoping to get seedlings next year. This year, my plants have not had the blooms like in the past which is a little disappointing. I am waiting for cooler weather when everything around here usually recovers and starts blooming again.


Leave a Reply

