An Early Fall?

“An Early Fall?”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Winter comes late in this part of the country.  It is not at all unusual for our first freeze to be in January even though our first freeze date is November 15th.   This year, however, may be a different story.  Just yesterday one of our local TV weathermen was predicting an early fall and winter.  We have been having cool fronts move through here throughout the summer bringing at least drier air if not a tiny drop in temperature.  This is very much out of the ordinary.  Usually it is late September or early October before the first one makes it through this far south.

I have started noticing a few plants seem to be thinking it is fall, too.  The blueberry bushes are already turning, something they didn’t do until November last year.

 

Bl Berry Fall Leaves

 

Of course, we will have to wait and see if the weather does actually cool off extra early this year, but I do see signs that it just might be happening.  While I look forward to cooler temps, I don’t want an extra long, cold winter.  How’s it looking where you are?  I know many areas had a much cooler summer than normal.  Do you think you will be seeing an extra early fall and winter?

8 Comments

  1. Tatyana said,

    September 4, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    Hi Jan! I agree, it is a bit strange for blueberry bushes. Mine are still green and have berries.

    • Jan said,

      September 7, 2009 at 5:13 am

      Tatyana, I don’t know what is going on around here. Cool fronts coming through in the summer, no rain, and turning leaves – too much.

  2. Jake said,

    September 4, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    I actually see the tree’s turning here this year now too. I do believe some are just stressed, but some that are normally not stressed this time of year are turning too.

    My Grandma in KY said that tree’s that norally turn late Spetember and October are now turning. I talked to her the end of August, so that was about a week ago.

    What is odd for us, excluding KY, El Nino is suppose to mean the Southeast will have a warmer and stormier winter.

    Jake

    • Jan said,

      September 7, 2009 at 5:14 am

      Jake, you might be right about plants being stressed. I still think we just might be in for an unusual winter just like our summer was so out of the ordinary.

  3. Janet said,

    September 5, 2009 at 6:55 am

    I do love the color of the blueberry bushes in the fall, what a punch!

    • Jan said,

      September 7, 2009 at 5:15 am

      Janet, fall is my favorite time of year, so I really don’t mind signs of an early one.

  4. Sweet Bay said,

    September 5, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    August was hot and muggy here as usual. We got a break the first of September. As long as we don’t get hit by a hurricane I’ll be happy.

    Interestingly, our blueberries usually don’t start turning until November as well. I love that late season color.

    • Jan said,

      September 7, 2009 at 5:17 am

      I feel the same way about keeping the hurricanes away. Our August seemed to be a little milder than normal, which was nice. Our blueberries don’t usually start turning colors until November, too, but this year something else is going on.


Leave a Reply

