We Got Rain

“We Got Rain”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

We have been so dry lately, over 9 inches below normal.  I was just thinking to myself yesterday morning as I was putting out the sprinklers on the garden beds that I was awfully tired of watering.  It seems that that was just about all I have done this summer.  Thankfully, yesterday about mid morning, the rains came and left about half an inch.  Just one little half an inch and look what showed up in the container of purple basil.

 

Mushroom in purple sage, p.01, ed., reduced to 15%

 

Dear hubby snapped this picture of a perfect mushroom, something we haven’t seen around here in a very long time.

Late this afternoon, we  received another 1.45 inches of rain.  A good shower that was badly needed.  I can’t believe I am writing this, but I would like to see a little more rain tomorrow, too.

9 Comments

  1. Sandy said,

    September 7, 2009 at 5:10 am

    We need rain, too, I can’t believe how dry everything is right now. I am hoping we get some today.

    • Jan said,

      September 7, 2009 at 7:20 am

      Sandy, it certainly has been a dry summer. Hope you get your needed rain.

  2. Garden Mary said,

    September 7, 2009 at 7:18 am

    We got a little rain Saturday and I was happy for that. We haven’t cut the grass in almost three weeks because with no rain, no growth. I never remember a summer like this.

  3. Jan said,

    September 7, 2009 at 7:22 am

    Garden Mary, we haven’t cut our grass either in a while which is so unusual, but dear hubby doesn’t mind not having to get out in the heat to cut it. This has been a dry summer, though we have had them before. I hope next summer we are back in our usual weather pattern of frequent afternoon showers.

  4. Janet said,

    September 7, 2009 at 7:24 am

    I love seeing the different fungi that pop up after some moisture. Glad you got some rain, dry conditions are hard.

    • Jan said,

      September 7, 2009 at 2:46 pm

      I do too, Janet. This one was such a pretty light lemon yellow. Right now it is thundering in the distance and clouds are building up, so we may get some more rain.

  5. Sweet Bay said,

    September 7, 2009 at 8:07 am

    That is a beautiful mushroom. It goes perfectly with the purple Basil.

    It’s so nice to get much-needed rain!

    • Jan said,

      September 7, 2009 at 2:48 pm

      Yes, it is nice to get rain after so many dry days. Isn’t that a pretty mushroom, and you are right, it does look nice with the purple basil.

  6. Jake said,

    September 8, 2009 at 11:03 am

    Rain is good; we had flooding last week. I am glad to take any bit that we can get.

    Jake


Leave a Reply

