Too Much of a Good Thing

“Too Much of a Good Thing”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

The old saying, be careful what you wish for, has certainly proven very accurate for me.  Just a few days ago, I was remarking that the little, much-needed rain we had was wonderful and more would be welcomed.  While it has been extremely dry this summer and especially the last three weeks, we certainly have started catching up.  So far this week we have had 4.75 inches of rain, and right now, it just started pouring again.  I wouldn’t be surprised if we make five inches before midnight.  Five inches in one week is a lot of rain, but what is troublesome is that rain is predicted for every day next week.  The gods must be laughing at me right now and saying, “Well, you wanted rain.”

After our first rain shower, I posted a picture of a pretty, pale yellow mushroom that popped up in a container.  Yesterday, when I pulled into the driveway I couldn’t believe my eyes when I spied a huge, reddish brown mushroom the size of a dinner plate (and we had only had 3.25 inches of rain by then).

Lg Mushroom (redu)

Look at the stem on this fungus.  It’s huge!  With all the rain, I guess it became top-heavy and just toppled over.

Lg Mushroom stem (redu)

This morning, when I ventured outside between showers, I found puddles all over the lawn.  One good thing was that all the plants looked hydrated and happy.  Of course, if the rain keeps up like they say it will, things may get too water-logged.  Seems like there never is a happy medium.

The back corner of the garden had about two inches of water, which is about what other low areas of the property had also.  It will drain off fairly rapidly, but with more rain, there may be more standing water tomorrow.

Water-logged back corner (redu)

Right now, I am still being cautiously optimistic that all this rain is good for the garden.  I just hope I don’t get too much more of a good thing.

10 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    September 12, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    I hear you!! We had ‘too much of a good thing’ this past week. It hasn’t rained for two days now and with hope tomorrow we can walk in the backyard.

    • Jan said,

      September 13, 2009 at 10:37 am

      This morning when I checked, all the puddles were gone in the lawn, but things were still squishy. More rain is predicted, but I am hoping it holds off so things can dry out more. Hope the same happens in your neck of the woods.

  2. racheld said,

    September 12, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Oh, My, Jan!!

    That’s quite a hearty big fellow!!! (Or lady—I never know fungi gender).

    I’m so glad you stopped in, and am doubly glad to find this lovely spot with all the beautiful gardening.

    rachel

    • Jan said,

      September 13, 2009 at 10:38 am

      Thanks, Rachel for stopping by. Yes, that is quite a big fungus. I noticed this morning there are lots of fungi all over the neighborhood. Amazing what a little rain can bring out.

  3. nancybond said,

    September 12, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    Isn’t that always the way? Feast or famine. That’s one ginormous fungus!!

    • Jan said,

      September 13, 2009 at 10:39 am

      Nancy, I know it is the biggest I have ever seen.

  4. Tatyana said,

    September 12, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    It looks edible! It’s a pity that mushroom picking is not popular in this country. In Europe, this cutie would be eaten already.

    • Jan said,

      September 13, 2009 at 10:40 am

      Most people are afraid to eat wild mushrooms because they don’t know which ones are safe. A consequence of too many people living in cities I guess. We’ve lost our touch with nature.

  5. donna said,

    September 13, 2009 at 6:30 am

    This post makes me think of how we used to say, “Fungus Among Us”….don’t remember when or why we thought that was funny. I often wonder how farmers who grow crops deal with the feast or famine when it comes to weather.

    • Jan said,

      September 13, 2009 at 10:29 am

      Donna that is from an old ’60’s song by Huge Barrett and the Victors. I remember it well.


Leave a Reply

