In the Mood

“In the Mood”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

More rain today, which meant no work in the garden.  This morning there were no puddles in the low spots on the lawn, but after the latest rainfall, the puddles are back.  The ground is really saturated now, so it will have to be several days of no rain before I can get back to working among the plants.  This is a little disappointing because after not being able to be in the garden with all the hot weather, and now that the weather has turned a little cooler, I am anxious to get out and do some real gardening.

With not being able to get outside, I did run a few errands.  Dear hubby needed some batteries, so while I was out, I stopped at Wal-mart.  They didn’t have the ones needed, so I stopped at Home Depot which didn’t have them either.  But, what they did have were gallon sized crotons on sale.  They were only $2.98 when Walmart had them for $10.00, and the grocery store had them for $12.00.  At such a price, I couldn’t resist these plants for a fall container.

 

Croton (redu)

 

I have always loved crotons for the fall.  I know they are summer tropicals, but, for me, the colors are perfect for autumn, and with our mild autumn will look good into Thanksgiving.  Since we don’t have the fall leaf color that other parts of the country enjoy, these plants will definitely give an autumnal feeling to the front porch.  I will either put these in one large container or two smaller ones, where I can then place a toffee twist carex to the side with a pot of colorful mums that can be easily replaced when the flowers finished blooming.  When the rain stops and I am finally able to plant these up, I’ll post a photo of my final decision.

Getting a little bit of cooler weather and these crotons, certainly has put me in the mood to start my fall planting.

11 Comments

  1. nancybond said,

    September 13, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    These will look wonderful in an autumn planting! One of the local supermarkets has large pots of copper coloured Mums on sale for $12 — very large pots. I hope to get at least one to continue the colour on the balcony through our October Thanksgiving. 🙂

    • Jan said,

      September 13, 2009 at 5:34 pm

      I love mums in the fall. Around here, though, they usually stop selling them in late October, and by November 1st the poinsettias are coming out. I want mums for Thanksgiving not poinsettias!

  2. Janet said,

    September 13, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    That will be really nice looking. Like the combo with the carex. Will you overwinter the crotons? I am going to go the garden center tomorrow- need something for my front porch containers.

    • Jan said,

      September 13, 2009 at 8:40 pm

      I’ll try to overwinter them, Janet, but these are very tender. I have lost them when temps got in the mid 30’s; it doesn’t have to be a freeze to kill these plants. At this price, I won’t be too sad if they don’t make it.

  3. Zindagi said,

    September 14, 2009 at 3:19 am

    Lovely plants at a lovely price! co-incidentally i am planning to buy crotons too hope i’ll get fair price too

    • Jan said,

      September 14, 2009 at 4:35 am

      I hope you get lucky like I did. The ones I bought were very full and colorful- perfect crotons.

  4. Titania said,

    September 14, 2009 at 3:41 am

    Hi Jan, thank you for stopping by. Crotons are very colourful plants, tough and lighten up the shrubbery. Once they have outlived their welcome on the porch they are happy to live for ever planted out as long as their is no frost. They are easily propagated from cuttings during the warmer season.

    • Jan said,

      September 14, 2009 at 4:37 am

      Titania, I have had these before and was able to keep them about three years before a freeze got them. I like crotons because they can take shade or sun, and since I have so much shade, they make for a colorful addition to darker areas.

  5. Tatyana said,

    September 14, 2009 at 6:42 am

    I’ve never thought about crotons for fall. What a great idea! You are right, the colors are wonderful for this time!

  6. September 14, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    What a great purchase Jan – such good value – and they will certainly look fine planted up for an Autumn container – fabulous colours.
    K

  7. bangchik said,

    September 14, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    Crotons really add interesting colors both indoor and outdoor and replace flowers as autumn is inching in… ~bangchik


Leave a Reply

