Blue Skies Again

“Blue Skies Again”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Another early morning rain shower that left .28 inches of rain on the garden came through here, but after that, there were blue skies and sunshine.  After nine days of rain, seeing some sun certainly made for a cheerful day.  Day after day of cloudy weather can get you down.

More mushrooms are out after all the rain.

 

Mushroom 1 (redu)

 

Mushroom 2 (redu)

 

This last mushroom popped up next to a brick and has enveloped part of the brick and a stick as it developed.  I couldn’t remove the stick without destroying the mushroom which I didn’t want to do.

 

Mushroom 3 (redu)

 

Besides the mushrooms popping up all over the lawn and garden, one other thing has shown up because of the rains.  Fire ants!  Yes, the fire ants are trying to rebuild their home, and unfortunately they have chosen an area in the circle garden.  I guess because this area has raised beds, the ants think this will be the ideal place to get away from accumulating water.

 

Fire Ant Mound (redu)

 

I don’t use pesticides as a rule.  I find I really don’t need to, but I do use something to kill these ants.  They can be vicious.  If you have never been bitten by  fire ants, then you have no idea how painful it can be.  I usually get a welt which will often become infected.  These ants are nothing to fool around with as anyone from the South can tell you.

I sure hope today’s blue skies stay around and that the rain, mushrooms, and ants don’t.

6 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    September 14, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    I agree, fire ants need to be dealt with! Not looking forward to having them again when we move.

    • Jan said,

      September 15, 2009 at 4:02 pm

      Janet, last year the fire ants were just terrible around here, but this year they have not been as bad. Another pest import we could have done without.

  2. donna said,

    September 15, 2009 at 5:58 am

    I don’t think we have fire ants up here, but don’t know that for sure. Very interesting how the mushroom grew around the brick and stick. Jan, I made mention of you and your blog on my Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day post.

  3. Jan said,

    September 15, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    Donna, just hope they never make it to you. I was intrigued, too, by that mushroom and how it grew around the brick and stick. I read your GBBD post and thought how nice of your to mention me. I remember how excited I was to get my first few comments.

  4. Tatyana said,

    September 15, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    OMG! The first mushroom is a beauty. I would certainly cook and it that one, I know it is edible.

  5. ryublade said,

    September 23, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    have you heard about the crazy ants. LSU AgCenter had an article on their website which might be interesting for you to check out.


Leave a Reply

