Finally Showing Up

“Finally Showing Up”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

 

It is so strange how you often do not realize something is missing until it shows up.  For me, it is the red canna, Mr. President.  It wasn’t until it started blooming yesterday, that I realized it has not shown a flower in almost two years.  This is the first flower this year, and I am pretty sure it did not bloom last year.  How could I have not noticed that it hasn’t been blooming?  This is one of my favorite cannas.

 

Mr President Canna (redu)

 

This particular canna is planted in an area that I recently used a garden fork to aerate the soil.  I think that plus all the rain we have been having lately is what spurred this plant into bloom.  Whatever the reason, I am grateful that the flowers have started showing up.

5 Comments

  1. September 25, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    They are bright and this is the tween season. You know tween summer and Autumn color. Nice to have it so cheery.

  2. Tatyana said,

    September 26, 2009 at 12:05 am

    Hi Jan! It’s a pretty one! I like cannas, but mine don’t bloom every year. I think I need to use my garden fork…

  3. donna said,

    September 26, 2009 at 5:48 am

    What a lovely canna flower. They seem to be in bloom everywhere around here, except in my yard….because I don’t have any planted. Next year, maybe.

  4. Jake said,

    September 26, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Very pretty. My red Canna’s just staretd to bloom as well.

    Jake

  5. Lana said,

    September 26, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    I was just looking for other, local bloggers & came upon your site. Lovely flowers here & you’re quite knowledgeable. Keep up the good work. 🙂


Leave a Reply

